Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
stevenreed5802
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎06-20-2007
Message 1 of 7 (331 Views)
Accepted Solution

Inventor License being used wrong

331 Views, 6 Replies
01-13-2012 11:15 AM

Here at our company we updated to the 2012 versions of Autodesk Inventor, AutoCAD mechanical, AutoCAD Electrical and Autodesk Vault back around memorial day.  Since then we have noticed that an Inventor Professional License is being taken up by a user who is using AutoCAD Mechanical and/or AutoCAD Electrical.  Can some one please explain to me how and why this is happening and what do to do to fix it.  Any help would be appreciated I have tried everything I can think of, so now I am stuck.

 

Thank you.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 7 (317 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-13-2012 02:53 PM in reply to: stevenreed5802

Is this a network license?  Did you install his Mechanical from the professional suite serial number?  Electrical only pulls electrical, so something else is going on, I am sure.

 

What you might try in lieu of reinstallation (assuming this is network licensed) is create an adskflex.opt options file that excludes this user from accessing a professional license, thus pulling only a suite license.  This should work, unless of course this user actually needs access to the professional license. 

 

See the link in my signature for everything you need to know about the options file.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 7 (310 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-13-2012 02:56 PM in reply to: TravisNave

can you post any of the log files?

Product Support
anil.choudhary
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-30-2006
Message 4 of 7 (289 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-16-2012 01:55 AM in reply to: stevenreed5802

Hi 

We would require the following information to understand the issue better.

  1. Debug log file you will find its location in LMTOOLS on the Config Services Tab, Path to the debug log file text box
  2. License file you will find its location in LMTOOLS on the Config Services Tab, Path to License file text box
  3. Perform Status Enquiry, A copy of the text from choosing the button on the Server Status tab of LMTOOLS. Please copy this content into a .txt file in notepad and save as a name such as SrvStat.txt.
  4. Screen shot of Product information dialog for ACM and Electrical
  5. Option file  if you are using one than it will be in the same folder as the license file

 

If you would like to send this information confidentially, I will send you a separate private message please attach them in reply.

 

The cascading sequence for Autodesk 2012 products http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS16981643.

You may also want to Rename the CascadeInfo.cas file.
•  Navigate to the following folder:
Windows XP > C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\Adlm
Windows Vista > C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Adlm
•  Rename the CascadeInfo.cas file to OLD_CascadeInfo.cas-backup  OR move it to desktop

Launch Autodesk product and it will create cascadeinfo.cas form the new license file.

 

 

______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!






Anil Choudhary
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

Distinguished Contributor
stevenreed5802
Posts: 123
Registered: ‎06-20-2007
Message 5 of 7 (274 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-16-2012 06:57 AM in reply to: anil.choudhary

yes could you please send me a private msg and I will copy the info for you

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 7 (268 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-16-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: stevenreed5802

You can PM him by clicking here.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Product Support
anil.choudhary
Posts: 88
Registered: ‎07-30-2006
Message 7 of 7 (229 Views)

Re: Inventor License being used wrong

01-25-2012 09:21 PM in reply to: stevenreed5802

We reorganized license file. Put Individual Autodesk product license first and suite license at the bottom. It worked for the customer. Please check the article below for more information.


http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/07/troubles-with-combining-license-files-missing-lic...

 

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!




 



Anil Choudhary
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube