Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 1 of 5 (276 Views)

Installing Civil 3D 2013 and saving customized menus

276 Views, 4 Replies
10-25-2012 11:45 AM

I tried installing CIvil 3D 2013 and there was no option to save settings as the old versions had. Any advice on how to keep all the customization that was done on 2012 on the new version? Is it just as simple as copying the support folder containing the customized menu and icons to the support folder in 2013?

Product Support
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 2 of 5 (256 Views)

Re: Installing Civil 3D 2013 and saving customized menus

10-26-2012 09:29 AM in reply to: webbsurveying

Thank you for using Autodesk Discussion Groups forum.
Here is the link to the post regarding migrating custom setting in C3D 2012 (please note that for 2013 you need to C3D 2013 install path) we have on Being Civil blog.
http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/11/i-want-my-settings-back-in-civil-3d-2012.html

Here is the link to ‘How Do I Migrate Customized Files?’ section in C3d 2013 online help.
ttp://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesCIO/GUID-A7B66B66-37C0-4B96-A70F-4C121B7111F3.htm,topicNumber=CIOd30e1576

 

Regards,



Avto Chachava
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 3 of 5 (250 Views)

Re: Installing Civil 3D 2013 and saving customized menus

10-26-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: avto

I installed 2013, used the Admigrate and the customozed menus came in just rine. Howver, some of the icons (not all) show up as question mark inside a cloud. I manually copied the icon images to the folder located in user/appdate/roaming/cg 2013/support/icon but that didn't help. SOme of the customized icons show but not others.

 

I seems like I remember something like this on an older version and it had something to do with memory allocation.

 

Is there a solution for this?

 

ACAD Screen Shot.png

Product Support
Posts: 261
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 4 of 5 (239 Views)

Re: Installing Civil 3D 2013 and saving customized menus

10-26-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: webbsurveying

I’m curious about teh video card and video drives you have on your system.  
Could you also try creating a new admin user account and start C3D 2013 with default settings and let us know if you still see those ‘?’ marks in place of icons.

 



Avto Chachava
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-17-2012
Message 5 of 5 (235 Views)

Re: Installing Civil 3D 2013 and saving customized menus

10-26-2012 02:28 PM in reply to: avto

Name             : AMD FirePro 2270 (ATI FireGL)
Manufacturer     : AMD
Chip set         : FirePro 2270 (ATI FireGL)
Memory           : 221 MB
Driver           : 8.17.0010.1091

 

When I check for updates, it says a newer version of the driver is available. Then I get an error message that it failed to update and make sure I have permission to write to the file.

 

I haven't tried logging in with a new account yet.

 

I can go to customize and see the icons for the buttons.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube