Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
Fera3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-18-2011
Message 1 of 4 (604 Views)
Accepted Solution

Install both Inventor 2012 Standart and Professional in the same machine.

604 Views, 3 Replies
09-18-2011 07:22 PM

Hi,

 

My company has three permanent licences from Autodesk Inventor Standart 2012 (Design Suite Preimum), and one licence from Autodesk Inventor Professional 2012 (Design Suite Ultimate), which we want to use as a floating license.

We intend to use this this floating licence in the same three computers that use the permanet licences, but after all set, in the of the wizard setup from Inventor Professional (using an administrative image for network licence) it claims that hte software is already installed on the computer...

 

Is it possible to install the professinoal edition in this computer???

 

Thanks in advance for any support...

 

Greetings

 

Felipe Gama

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 2 of 4 (594 Views)

Re: Install both Inventor 2012 Standart and Professional in the same machine.

09-19-2011 02:44 AM in reply to: Fera3

No.Autodesk Inventor and Autodesk Inventor Professional can not be installed on the same machine side-by-side.

You can just install AIP (use Product Design Suite Ultimate installation disk)on all of the clients, when clients start Inventor, it will use Product Design Suite Preimum for the first 3 machines,

If one of the 3 clients uses Professional functions,such as Tube & Pipe, Simulation, due to dynamic licensing, the computer will return back the Product Design Suite Preimum license and use the Product Design Suite Ultimate license because Professional feature requires AIP licesne which is provided by Product Design Suite Ultimate.

 




Emily Xu
New Member
Fera3
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-18-2011
Message 3 of 4 (582 Views)

Re: Install both Inventor 2012 Standart and Professional in the same machine.

09-19-2011 06:26 AM in reply to: emily.xu

Emily,

 

Thank you so much! You helped me a lot...

 

But there's a little problem... I called my country support (Brazil) to confirm your procedure and they said it's not possible due the three licences we bought are permanent. They said the licenses cannot can't operate in the license manager tool...

 

I'm waiting their answer now...

 

 

Kindest regards,

 

Felipe Gama - IT

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 4 of 4 (539 Views)

Re: Install both Inventor 2012 Standart and Professional in the same machine.

09-20-2011 09:36 PM in reply to: Fera3

For you have 3 PrDSP standalone licenses and 1 PrDSU network license, so it's impossible to float your PrDSU license on the clients, for the standalone license is bundled to your client machines that only have the abilities to use Inventor standard. So, update your standalone licenses to network would be the best way to meet your requirement.




Emily Xu

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube