Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
advcad
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎05-10-2003
Message 1 of 4 (1,321 Views)

Install 2012 on Virtual Machine on Win 7

1321 Views, 3 Replies
07-13-2011 02:27 PM

I've tried to install ACAD 2012 onto an XP PRo virtual drive on a new Windows 7 machine.  It says that everything has been installed but there is no ACAD.exe file to actually start it.  Has anyone installed it successfully like this?

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 2 of 4 (1,273 Views)

Re: Install 2012 on Virtual Machine on Win 7

07-19-2011 06:45 AM in reply to: advcad

Virual machines are not supported to Run Autocad.

But Installation should have worked fine. please look at the installation logs in %temp% folder to see if there are any issues.

 

OR

please try to install the software in diagnostics mode as described here

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS75218

If the issue persisits, please post the all the log files from the %temp% folder (start->run/search->type %temp% ->Enter) as a zip file.

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
farfansal
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-13-2011
Message 3 of 4 (1,166 Views)

Re: Install 2012 on Virtual Machine on Win 7

10-13-2011 12:46 PM in reply to: advcad

Can the AutoCAD 2012 license be activated/repaired inside a virtual machine? I want to develop applications for AutoCAD using Visual Studio C#. 

I tried to use Visual Studio in the past but it messed up a CNC software package (Router-CIM) that I use everyday. So I wanted to have a development virtual machine with AutoCAD and Visual Studio running on it. Would I need an extra license?

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 4 of 4 (1,156 Views)

Re: Install 2012 on Virtual Machine on Win 7

10-14-2011 05:08 AM in reply to: farfansal

Technically yes, again not supported environment.

 

License it depends how it would be used. if you can use it as second activation then yes

please check it here

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/index?siteID=123112&id=3970195

 

5th point

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube