Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 1 of 11 (340 Views)
Accepted Solution

HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

340 Views, 10 Replies
11-06-2013 01:43 PM

I Have Ravit Architecture 2014 Trial installed on my computer.

I acidentally deleated my Revit installed Folder.

 

How can I Unistall the rest of the thing off my sistem now?

 

Tring to install Educational version but cant cause its already installed.

 

Can I FORCE UNISTALL it? how?

 

VICTOR HUGO

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,373
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 11 (333 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-06-2013 02:39 PM in reply to: victorarquiteto

Welcome to the community Victor!

 

Did you also look in your Control Panel -> Add / Remove Programs? If it's not there try running Microsoft Fix-it and let us know if that resolves it :smileyhappy:



Philip Schmelzer
Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 3 of 11 (322 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-06-2013 04:43 PM in reply to: victorarquiteto

its there! Thats the problem. Its there and i cant REMOVE IT. when i try to change/unistall it, it runs forever and don´t do a thing. Its like its looking for the unistaller and not finding it. takes forever and do nothing. The registry is still full of data, the program is installed, but the folder is gone.

VICTOR HUGO

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 11 (306 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 06:20 AM in reply to: victorarquiteto

For more information on the Autodesk KB Support article concerning the clean uninstall of Autodesk products, see this link:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=2887771&linkID=9240617

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 5 of 11 (303 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 06:43 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hey. Thx for the link i will unistalled all Autodesk Programs normally. But, as i cant unistall Revit, cause windows just get the machine loading the unistaller forever and never stop. What do i do? I can just go direcly to the registry and go forward leaving the rest of the program installed? cause i cant unistall it, it dont move.

 

I am afraid of never be able to install revit again. IT is not unistalling tru the normall Controll Panel, programs, remove...

 

VICTOR HUGO

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 11 (299 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: victorarquiteto

Yank the reg keys, then delete the folder locations.  See if Control Panel will then remove the app.  If not, remove the registration of it from the reg also.  It's doable, just takes some leg work.  Surgical removal is never fun.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 7 of 11 (293 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 07:39 AM in reply to: TravisNave

crap found another issue.

Finally! You did it! You guide me to sucessesfully unistall the **** thing. Its finally gone from the registry, folders, and the windows programs manager. its finally gone.

BUT!!

 

Trying to install again and the installer says that REVIT IS ALREADY INSTALED when its not... I made an screenshot.

I will try to redo everything while you think of something.

 

VICTOR HUGO

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 11 (290 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 07:43 AM in reply to: victorarquiteto

Run the Fix-it from Microsoft now.


http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall

The old fix below will work, but you will have a 99% chance of getting a 1402 registry error on reinstall.  It's fixable too.

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Microsoft-Installer-Clean-Up-Utility-for-Add-Re...

 

Use at your own risk!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 9 of 11 (270 Views)

Re: HELP! Cant Install new Revit! Cant unistall Old Revit!

11-07-2013 04:21 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Done, but getting a new thing now...

 

Tryed the first link. It crashed when trying to resolve Revit 2014 issue for 5 hours, finally i force shut down and when the pc commed back on. ITs finally gone, and i am able to install now.

 

Downloaded the the REVIT again, was able to install now (thank god), but then, unfortunatly, for the third time in a row now, takes forever to prepare Revit content (last time waited a full hour without progressing anybit). Strange. The thing is i need to cancell cause its taking forever.

 

How do i resume instalation?

cause wen i try to use the SETUP to resume, it shows an COMMUNICATION ERROR saying that something is corrupt, or conection to the site is broke, or anything. What i did was DOWNLOAD AGAIN, start again, but now in a diferent point, it stops and shows the same thing: "PREPARE REVIT CONTENT" and its not moving again. 3 times now. all in diferent points of the instalation...

 

You recomend trying to rip the role thing off again? cause i cant RESUME INSTALATION, it gets me an communication error every time its not a fresh instalation. I printed the screen for you.

 

Matbe i shoud have tryed second link (older MS tool) to rip revit off.

 

I am ready to try anything else you advise other than format the role machine. What can you recomend me now? (cause untill now i am a step by step closer to be done thx to you, your advises worked so far, now we are close to finish)

 

what do i do?

 

1- ripping the role thing again,

2- lear how to propper resume the instalation to not have to start again everytime.

3- new ideas.

 

VICTOR HUGO

 

 

Contributor
victorarquiteto
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-06-2013
Message 10 of 11 (258 Views)

WORKED!!!!

11-07-2013 06:11 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Just got it installed. WORKED BEATIFULLY. Thx alot man. I got from a locked unreparable situation to a fresh start because of you. after ripping everything out again, the instalation was finish unbuged.

 

I really ecomend you fix an issue to REVIT 2014 EDUCATIONAL DOWNLOADED INSTALATION:

When the instalation get to MANAGING REVIT CONTENT it seems like it is stuck, but you really have to wait. i downloaded 1.6 gb in 3 minuts with an 15mb/sec internet, and when i get to MANAGING REVIT CONTENT, it taked ONE AND A HALF HOUR, but it finished. so if you dont have an really good internet connection, it may takes 3-4 hours seems STUCK, but the thing is working.

 

I am saying this because on the forums i have seem the same issue everywere! I prionted for you. Taked me one and a half hour with 15mb/sec!!!!

 

VICTOR HUGO

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube