Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
mike.burke
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-30-2002
Message 1 of 4 (1,290 Views)

Getting more cascadeinfo.cas licence problems since changing FLEXLM_TIMEOUT

1290 Views, 3 Replies
03-13-2011 03:24 PM

A couple weeks ago we updated every workstation FLEXLM_TIMEOUT value from 1000000 to 2000000. This was done as we have some offices mainly in South East Asia that we were having issues obtaining Revit licences during the busiest time of the day. Occasionly this licence timeout happens in our other APAC offices as well during this period of the day.

 

Changing FLEXLM_TIMEOUT to the value to 2000000 has resloved the licence timeout issue, but now I think there's a new and possibly related issue.

 

Up until the change in FLEXLM_TIMEOUT, I had seen a few cases where cascadeinfo.cas had been corrupted (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=13744786&linkID=9243099), mainly on Revit 2010 products. Since the change the to FLEXLM_TIMEOUT's value, I am now seeing daily issues where a few users right across our APAC offices get this cascadeinfo.cas problem on 2011 based AutoCAD products as well as Revit 2010.

 

Has anyone else seen this? Are they related, or is it just bad timing? I'm seriously thinking of reverting FLEXLM_TIMEOUT back to 1000000 to see if the cascadeinfo.cas problem goes away.

New Member
andrewf
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
Message 2 of 4 (1,024 Views)

Re: Getting more cascadeinfo.cas licence problems since changing FLEXLM_TIMEOUT

07-26-2011 08:25 AM in reply to: mike.burke

I'd be fairly surprised if these two things were related.  I've been using a value of 1000000000 nationwide and this hasn't caused any issues like what you are describing.  What has happened since you posted this message?  Did you find any other commonalities among users with the cascadeinfo.cas issue?

Valued Contributor
mike.burke
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-30-2002
Message 3 of 4 (1,017 Views)

Re: Getting more cascadeinfo.cas licence problems since changing FLEXLM_TIMEOUT

07-26-2011 01:20 PM in reply to: andrewf

I did end up changing the value back to 1000000, and the corruption of cascacdeinfo.cas continues (mainly for Revit 2010 users, occasionly Revit 2011). So no, I do not think it is related anymore.

New Member
andrewf
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
Message 4 of 4 (1,012 Views)

Re: Getting more cascadeinfo.cas licence problems since changing FLEXLM_TIMEOUT

07-26-2011 02:58 PM in reply to: mike.burke

I wonder if the users with this issue are having difficulty closing their session of AutoCAD/Revit/Navis.

 

Every time that I've had to delete casecadeinfo.cas it is after the application crashed or got hung up.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube