Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
steriopaul50
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-04-2012
Message 1 of 6 (2,603 Views)

FLEXnet license Finder

2603 Views, 5 Replies
10-04-2012 08:42 AM

I am a mechanical student from holland. Just download and installed the Student version of CFD. I got my serial number and everything. But now when I run CFD it asks me for two thing: 1, specify the license server System or 2, Specify the license file. I have looked but was unable to find any file which could contain my license. So could anyone please help

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,108
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (2,598 Views)

Re: FLEXnet license Finder

10-04-2012 09:49 AM in reply to: steriopaul50

Are you sure that this shouldn't have been the stand-alone version?  Flexnet is a network licensed version.  You probably need to reinstall. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
tmikolaj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 3 of 6 (2,544 Views)

Re: FLEXnet license Finder

10-10-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: steriopaul50

i have the same problem.  Is there a license file that someone could post so that those of us who forgot to choose standalone dont have to bother reinstalling?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,108
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (2,542 Views)

Re: FLEXnet license Finder

10-10-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: tmikolaj

Whoa!  Buddy, that is the textbook definition of piracy.  If you installed the software license incorrectly, you need to reinstall and do it the right way.  It is a EULA violation to just throw out licenses here.  Be very careful.  

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
tmikolaj
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-10-2012
Message 5 of 6 (2,538 Views)

Re: FLEXnet license Finder

10-10-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: TravisNave
ohh ok. I would think since the software has my serial number and a product key, thats all it needs to be secure. the key thing here just seems to be a nuisance. I ended up uninstalling, and installing under standalone, and it worked.
New Member
caunsworth
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-29-2013
Message 6 of 6 (763 Views)

Re: FLEXnet license Finder

12-29-2013 10:07 AM in reply to: tmikolaj

How do you install as standalone?

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.