Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
jeromecastaneda
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎07-27-2004
Message 1 of 12 (37,249 Views)
Accepted Solution

FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

37249 Views, 11 Replies
03-12-2012 08:56 PM


Flexible License Manager status on Tue 3/13/2012 11:05

[Detecting lmgrd processes...]
License server status: 27000@Crown-Server
License file(s) on Crown-Server: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\CrownSys_Combined.lic:

Crown-Server: license server UP (MASTER) v11.9



We have problem connecting to the license server.
Here's from the Perform Status Enquiry

 

Vendor daemon status (on Crown-Server):

adskflex: The desired vendor daemon is down.
Check the lmgrd log file, or try lmreread.
Vendor:Host: Crown-Server
License path: 27000@Crown-Server;
FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

 

Things that were done:
1. Firewalls are all disabled
2. created an exception rule (inbound and outbound) to port 2080
3. created ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE in the system variable with value @203.92.109.98
4. reinstalled LMtools and created new Service to re Configure Service

 

Attached is the debug log for more reference. here were the last status

10:49:12 (adskflex) Vendor daemon can't talk to lmgrd (License server machine is down or not responding. (-96,491))
10:49:12 (adskflex) EXITING DUE TO SIGNAL 28 Exit reason 5
10:49:16 (lmgrd) adskflex exited with status 28 (Communications error)
10:49:16 (lmgrd) Please correct problem and restart daemons

 

thanks a lot,

Jerome

 

http://engr.jeromecastaneda.com/
“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” - Albert Pine
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-27-2009
Message 2 of 12 (37,223 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-13-2012 01:53 PM in reply to: jeromecastaneda

Try to disable any Antivirus software running on your FLEXlm license server machine. Sometimes it blocks the vendor daemon.

 

Oren Gabay

OpenLM - Streching your licenses to their limit

http://www.openlm.com

Distinguished Contributor
jeromecastaneda
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎07-27-2004
Message 3 of 12 (37,217 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-13-2012 06:23 PM in reply to: orengabay

Hello Oren,

 

The antivirus is not running in the background.

 

Any other thoughts?

 

 

thanks,

 

Jerome

http://engr.jeromecastaneda.com/
“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” - Albert Pine
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-14-2012
Message 4 of 12 (37,207 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-14-2012 03:37 AM in reply to: jeromecastaneda

Hi Jerome,

 

Have you managed to fix this as we are having the same problem.  Except in our case we installed the licence manager on a new server after retiring the old one, generated a new licence file with the details in and the just get that exact same error.  We have no antivirus installed on this particular server as it's only other role is as a DC and AutoCAD support have checked the licence file which is not the problem, unfortunately that's the limit of the support they are willing to give us.

 

We are using the 2009 suite of autocad products (Revit, Inventor and 3ds Max)

 

Regards

 

Jamie Kelly

Network Technician

Boston College, Lincolnshire, UK

Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-27-2009
Message 5 of 12 (37,202 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-14-2012 03:53 AM in reply to: jeromecastaneda

Hi Jerome,

 

I further investigated this and found that it may be related with DNS issues on the license server machine. 

 

Check your server hostname name by the "hostname" command and then try to ping this name on the license server, it should work. You can also try to use the FQDN in the license file.

 

Another option to check is described in IBM Rational support page - http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21296320. Probably it's related to old versions of FLEXlm but worth checking.

 

Sincerely,

Oren

 

Oren Gabay

OpenLM - Streching your licenses to their limit

http://www.openlm.com

Distinguished Contributor
jeromecastaneda
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎07-27-2004
Message 6 of 12 (37,181 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-14-2012 07:07 PM in reply to: orengabay

Hi Oren,

 

We can ping the server however still got the same problem.

 

Flexible License Manager status on Thu 3/15/2012 09:58

[Detecting lmgrd processes...]
Error getting status: Cannot connect to license server system.
The license server manager (lmgrd) has not been started yet,
the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the
port or hostname in the license file has been changed.
Server name: 203.92.109.98
License path: @203.92.109.98;
FLEXnet Licensing error:-15,570
For further information, refer to the FLEXnet Licensing documentation,

 

Pls. advise more about FDQN in license file. how do you do that?

We're using Flexera version v11.9.0.0 build 87342 x64_n6

 

Thanks

 

Jerome

http://engr.jeromecastaneda.com/
“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” - Albert Pine
Distinguished Contributor
jeromecastaneda
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎07-27-2004
Message 7 of 12 (37,181 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-14-2012 08:29 PM in reply to: jamiekelly9059

Hi Jamie,

 

I went through your log file and found these last lines

 

10:25:13 (lmgrd) adskflex exited with status 27 (No features to serve)
10:25:13 (lmgrd) adskflex daemon found no features. Please correct
10:25:13 (lmgrd) license file and re-start daemons.
10:25:13 (lmgrd)
10:25:13 (lmgrd) This may be due to the fact that you are using
10:25:13 (lmgrd) a different license file from the one you expect.
10:25:13 (lmgrd) Check to make sure that:
10:25:13 (lmgrd) C:\Users\veritas\Desktop\CAD Licence File\Muffin.lic
10:25:13 (lmgrd) is the license file you want to use.
10:25:13 (lmgrd)

 

Have you done this?

 

Thanks

 

Jerome

http://engr.jeromecastaneda.com/
“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” - Albert Pine
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-27-2009
Message 8 of 12 (37,173 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-15-2012 01:35 AM in reply to: jeromecastaneda

Hi Jerome,

 

Can you post the header of the license file in order to check the definitions in the server & vendor lines?

 

SIncerely,

Oren

 

OpenLM - Streching your licenses to their limit

http://www.openlm.com


Distinguished Contributor
jeromecastaneda
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎07-27-2004
Message 9 of 12 (37,171 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-15-2012 02:55 AM in reply to: orengabay

Hi Oren,

 

Appreciate your help.

 

We were able to resolve this issue.

 

In the LMTools first tab and Configuration using Services selected, we enabled LMTOOLS ignores license file path environment variables. Yes that did the trick with the tick. :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks

 

Jerome

http://engr.jeromecastaneda.com/
“What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal.” - Albert Pine
Active Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-27-2009
Message 10 of 12 (37,167 Views)

Re: FLEXnet Licensing error:-97,121

03-15-2012 03:13 AM in reply to: jeromecastaneda

Hi Jerome,

 

I am happy to hear that I was able to help.

 

Sincerely,

Oren

 

OpenLM - Streching your licenses to their limit

http://www.openlm.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube