Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
bobgoldie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 1 of 15 (4,350 Views)
Accepted Solution

FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

4350 Views, 14 Replies
07-05-2012 03:19 PM

I'm trying to get a networked Autocad environment set up in my bureau; we've never had one before, and I'm not an Autocad user.

 

I already had a FLEXnet License Administrator running for another product, so followed the setup instructions for adding Autcad.  I was able to do that, and I believe it is functioning properly.  However, I must be doing something wrong on the client end, as I have not been able to get Autcad 2013 to take a license.  I've been trying to figure out what I need to do on the client end to let Autocad know that I'm using the FLEXnet License Administrator.  Suggestions?

 

I've downloaded the Autocad 2013 executable, and installed it, telling it to use the network option.  I've identified the server to it (WBWISEINT).  I was getting a 15.570.10035 error message, so looked that up and added two variables to my client machine - ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE = @WBWISEINT  and FLEXLM_TIMEOUT = 1000000.  Adding those only succeeded in changing the error message to 15.570.0.  I've located the licpath.lic file in my Program FIles/Autodesk/Autocad 2013 folder, and it did not show the correct physical address, so I updated it.  That didn't change the error message.

 

When I start up Autocad 2013, a FLEXnet License Finder dialog box comes up.  I've tried both options - Specify the License Server System (I tried \\wbwiseint, "WBWISEINT" and "10.106.250.207) and Specify the License FIle (path to a copy of ACD2013enlicense.lic), and the screen returns with "A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager.  Error [-15.570.0]. 

 

Server is running Windows Server 2008, and the client machine is running Windows XP sp3.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 15 (4,326 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-06-2012 06:25 AM in reply to: bobgoldie

This is almost always attributed to a firewall issue or IPv6.  First make sure your NLM is running and the status enquiry shows licenses are available.

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see this discussion post here:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensi​ng/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/298...

 

Make sure the fireall is off or exceptions are made for the 4 .exe files and/or ports 27000 and 2080.  You can verify this by using IE by typing:

 

http://servername:2080

http://servername:27000

 

You should get a result of:

 

Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60Wê-60

 

Let me know what you find.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 15 (4,322 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-06-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: bobgoldie

If the server is Server 2008 R2 and you are running the 11.9 or 11.10 license manager, you may need to downgrade to 11.7.  The adskflex.exe has known to be problematic on R2.  But 11.7 seems to work well. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
bobgoldie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 4 of 15 (4,316 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-06-2012 09:41 AM in reply to: TravisNave
Thank you. We are running R2 and 11.10. It's possible that port 27000 isn't open, so we'll try that first. If that doesn't work, then I'll try going down to 11.7.
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 15 (4,315 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-06-2012 10:27 AM in reply to: bobgoldie

Keep me posted.  I was able to get 11.10 working on R2 the majority of the time.  But 11.9 rarely ever worked.  But I have yet to see 11.7 fail in the same fashion as 11.9 did and 11.10 sometimes does. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
bobgoldie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 6 of 15 (4,285 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-09-2012 02:04 PM in reply to: TravisNave
One of the actions I was told to try was to ensure that ports 2080 and 27000 are open. This could be tested by typing in http://wbwiseint:2080 into Internet Explorer. I tried that, and got the results they said to expect (W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60). However, when I did the same thing to port 27000, it wouldn't work. I typed "W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60W?-60" into the browser search to find out more about what this means. It brought me to another autocad email (6.6.2011; General Licensing: Using Internet Explorer to check if the ports used for licensing are open), and this one said that Port 2080 is for adskflex and Port 27000 is for lmgrd. As I understand it, I'm using adskflex and not lmgrd, correct? So I don't need to worry about port 27000 failing? Of course, that means I still don't know what is preventing this from working properly. I'm pretty sure that the software is running on the server. Here's a screen capture of what I can see when I log in, which leads me to believe it is something on the client end. Your thoughts?
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 7 of 15 (4,284 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-09-2012 02:06 PM in reply to: bobgoldie

nothing was attached

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 15 (4,282 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-09-2012 02:20 PM in reply to: bobgoldie

Both need to be open.  LMGRD is the master daemon.  ADSKFLEX is the vendor daemon. It is possible that your license file may have changed the master daemon port to something other than 27000.  For example, if you have a redundant server, it might be using 27005.  The header of the license file should show this.  If there is nothing listed, it is default 27000.  Chances are it is being firewall blocked.

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 15 (4,279 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-09-2012 02:34 PM in reply to: TravisNave

what error are you getting on the client side?

is it still the -15 error?

Active Member
bobgoldie
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-03-2012
Message 10 of 15 (4,276 Views)

Re: FLEXnet License Administrator - getting clients to see server

07-09-2012 03:18 PM in reply to: DarrenP
I downloaded the Autocad 2013 software and installed the network version of it. There had never been Autocad on this client computer before. When I tried running it, I got an error message "A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager Error [-15.570.10035]". I looked that up, and found references to the need for two variables (ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE, FLEXLM_TIMEOUT), which I added to my client machine. I have tried ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE set to "@wbwiseint","@ \\wbwiseint, and "@10.106.250.207". When I ran it again, I got the error message "A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager Error [-15.570.0]". I should mention that it always comes up with "FLEXnet License Finder" window. I've tried "Specify the License Server System" and I've tried "Specify the License File". Either way, it comes back with the error noted above. I've also looked at the licpath.lic file. When I opened it, the server's address was not correct, so I changed that. It was 0000000000 and I changed it to 005056893fad. That didn't help.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube