Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
giba_sjrp
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 1 of 9 (1,068 Views)

Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

1068 Views, 8 Replies
07-13-2011 08:10 AM

I made the migration to 3D Civil Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2012, I downloaded the 64bit version and installation on a PC where Win 64bit 7 had Civil 3D 2012 installed, but before you install the suite removed the Civil 3D.
When installing the suite all programs have been added successfully, except Civil 3D, where it does not appear to run, nor the mode Imperial, Metric or as Brazil.
Since the installation remade countless times, but nothing to install Civil 3D, if the program you use most.
The only error that appears during installation is the "Windows Installer", which stops working, plus the installation is completed successfully, it is not.
Upgrades Since this program's windows, more continues to error, since disable it, but it is impossible to start the installation of the Civil because it requires Windows intall.
I'm just seeing a solution, to restore the system before you install the suite, the more that was not what I wanted.

 

Win 7 64Bits

16GB

Itenl Core i7 870 2.93GHz

Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 2 of 9 (1,053 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-14-2011 08:33 AM in reply to: giba_sjrp

 

Hi,

 

From the information you included, it looks like Windows Installer needs to be repaired. Try the steps listed in this article:

 

Microsoft KB Article

 

I hope this helps,

 

Alison

 

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
giba_sjrp
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 3 of 9 (1,047 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-14-2011 09:45 AM in reply to: alison.gangler

Alison,

 

I've tried this several times, but nothing worked.

The installation is complete, but the shortcuts for Civil 3D imperial or metric or Brazil, are not installed or available.

At the exact moment that the shortcuts should be installed, "Windows Installer" to function, as shown in the picture is attached.

 

Thanks, Gilberto

Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 4 of 9 (1,044 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-14-2011 10:07 AM in reply to: giba_sjrp

Hi Gilberto,

 

In this case, I suspect that the Windows Profile for this user account might have some issues. I would create a new user account with full admin permissions and install through that account. After the install has completed, you can then again login to the original account and try to launch the application from that account. If it also still proves to have problems, then you might need to run the application from the new account.

 

Please let me know how it goes.

 

Thanks,

Alison

 

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
giba_sjrp
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 5 of 9 (1,040 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-14-2011 11:52 AM in reply to: alison.gangler

Alison,

The user I'm logged in has administrative privileges, I am attaching a picture for example.

You know how to run the "Acad.exe" with a particular profile, such as Civil 3D "Metric"?

Maybe this way I can create my own shortcut.



Thanks,
Gilberto

Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 6 of 9 (1,027 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-15-2011 08:06 AM in reply to: giba_sjrp

Hi Gilberto,

 

In answer to your question, the C3D 2012 Metric shortcut has the following properties:

 

Target: "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\acad.exe" /ld "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\AecBase.dbx" /p "<<C3D_Metric>>"

 

Start in: "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\UserDataCache\"

 

If you are experiencing issues with the profile, then you can run the steps to reset the user settings so that the Metric profile is set up correctly in the registry and on the drive:

 

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2011/05/add-reset-user-settings-in-civil-3d-2012.html

 

Please let me now if this helps!

 

Cheers,

Alison

 

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

Contributor
giba_sjrp
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 7 of 9 (1,023 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-15-2011 09:27 AM in reply to: alison.gangler

Alison,

Unfortunately I could not make it work.
I did all the procedures that you sent and also the shortcut with the suggested path.
When you run the shortcut I get the following error message "No Profile name exists: <<C3D_Metric>> Will create profile with defoult settings.

I do not know what else to do, I am without using a Civil week.

 

Thanks,

Gilberto

Contributor
giba_sjrp
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-19-2010
Message 8 of 9 (1,018 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-15-2011 11:08 AM in reply to: giba_sjrp

Resolved,

that was the Kaspersky antivirus nevertheless complete the installation.
 

He was off and install mode has been completed.
 

Thanks for the help.
 

Gilberto

Employee
alison.gangler
Posts: 125
Registered: ‎04-12-2010
Message 9 of 9 (1,016 Views)

Re: Error Civil 3D 2012 with Windows Installer Win 7 64bits

07-15-2011 11:15 AM in reply to: giba_sjrp

Glad to hear that you found out what caused the behavior.

 

Cheers,

Alison

___________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!



Alison Gangler
IPG - ICP Install Engineer
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube