Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-29-2013
Message 11 of 16 (6,537 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

05-13-2013 08:54 AM in reply to: tonyv1978

Hi there,

 

two good news from me:

 

1. The installation went fine w/o difficulties on our notebook - just with one HD (Win 7, 64 bit)

 

2. The installation on our workstation (Win 7, 64 bit, one SSD just for OS and program data - one regular HD for user data) worked fine now.

I got a phone call from the Autodesk Support Line.

We changed the following:

1. generated a local user profile with administrative privileagues and started it.

2. Switched the UAC (user access control) to OFF !!!

3. Opened registry and went to

HKeyLocalMachine/Software/Microsoft/Windows/CurrentVersion/Explorer/Shell folders

HKeyLocalMaschine settings.PNG

 

and changed the keys

Common Desktop               c:\users\public\desktop    -> d:\users\public\desktop

common documents                                                        d:\users\public\documents

....

same proceedings for common music, common video, common pictures

(but I think it has nothing to do with this)

4. close regedit

5. reboot PC

6. Log in with administrative privs

7. start setup - and it worked.

 

So we are done with this subject and hopefully you benefit from this.

Pressing my thumbs that the next update from Autodesk could deal with these problems.

Active Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-22-2013
Message 12 of 16 (6,525 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

05-13-2013 03:01 PM in reply to: mediplanGmbH
Thank's a lot, i work very well, very easy solution.
Thank's again!!!!
Active Member
wppdev
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 13 of 16 (5,731 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

07-26-2013 12:43 AM in reply to: tonyv1978

I was able to solve the problem with the following solution

Resolution:-
The problem is due to a registry location pointing to a non-existent location for the user profile location.

 

Steps to resolve :

  • Go to run.
  • Type ‘regedit’ click ‘ok’. The Registry Editor window opens.
  • Follow the path given below.
  • [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell Folders]
  • Check the location for “Common Documents”, It will be pointing to a non-existent location
  • Eg. "Common Documents"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"
  • Change the value data of common document as:
  • "Common Documents"="d:\\Users\\Public\\Documents"  (or any valid location)
  • OR create that non-existent folder
  • Run AutoCAD 2014 setup again
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-11-2013
Message 14 of 16 (5,233 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

09-11-2013 09:39 AM in reply to: tonyv1978

The Solution is easy: I made a new user account in my windows 7 64 bit operating system, and that's all. The setup went smooth with any errors. But the account must have administrator properties.

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2013
Message 15 of 16 (4,949 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

10-04-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: mediplanGmbH

This worked like a charm. Wonder if this is a Windows issue or AutoDesk?

Thank you!

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-26-2014
Message 16 of 16 (989 Views)

Re: Error 1606:Could not access network location Autodesk\Autocad 2014\R19.1

03-26-2014 01:20 PM in reply to: ddevillers

Hey,

 

For me, creating a symbolic link C:\Users pointing to d:\Users fixed the problem. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube