Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
jg131781
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 1 of 10 (809 Views)

ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

809 Views, 9 Replies
01-25-2011 12:29 PM

I asked this once already, but the answer was unhelpful.  I have outlined why below.

I have downloaded and installed the student version with the provided serial number, but it will not open. Instead it gives me an error message that it "exited abnormally." My log is below.

The original answer provided me with a forum link to a similar problem in Maya.  I went through the steps proffered there, but found absolutely no change in my own problem.  Thank you for any information you might provide.

Jan 25 20:23:21 :
Jan 25 20:23:21 : ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jan 25 20:23:21 :
Jan 25 20:23:32 : Smoke: License was not obtained: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20
Jan 25 20:23:32 :
Jan 25 20:23:32 : License method: standalone
Jan 25 20:23:32 : License file override:
Jan 25 20:23:32 :
Jan 25 20:23:32 : ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20
Jan 25 20:23:32 : Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20
Jan 25 20:23:32 : Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20
Jan 25 20:23:32 :
Jan 25 20:23:32 : Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20
    
Response by Michael B. (Autodesk)
Posted: 01-25-2011 01:54pm

Hi Jeffrey,

Would you please review the information in this forum post, it addresses the issue you are having:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Maya-2011-Mac-OSX-quot-error-20-quot/td-p/27291...

Mike

Product Support
Robert.Adam
Posts: 2,604
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Message 2 of 10 (785 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-26-2011 06:54 AM in reply to: jg131781

Hi.

 

Did you try changing the language in Mac OS X to "English"?

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht2490#l6

 

Regards,

Robert.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Flame and Smoke Customer Support
If my answer solved your issue, please click "Accept as Solution"
Active Member
jg131781
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 3 of 10 (755 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-29-2011 01:30 AM in reply to: jg131781

My default system setup was english. 

 

I eventually found that the problem was some old autodesk files that hadn't been cleaned up by my previous uninstalls.  I went through every hidden system folder on my computer until I had successfully and manually deleted every folder that had anything to do with autodesk, reinstalled smoke and it worked.

 

Thank you.

Product Support
Robert.Adam
Posts: 2,604
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Message 4 of 10 (725 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 05:30 AM in reply to: jg131781

Do you remember which folder that was?

I want to create a Knowledge Base article describing all the workarounds for this issue.

 

Thanks!

Robert.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Flame and Smoke Customer Support
If my answer solved your issue, please click "Accept as Solution"
Active Member
jg131781
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 5 of 10 (721 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 05:42 AM in reply to: jg131781

There were many, many folders.

 

At somepoint in the past on a previous computer (from whose Time Machine Backup I have equipped my current computer) I apparently had a version of maya installed.

 

I used the terminal to view hidden folders and after uninstalling Smoke went through each and every hidden folder on my hard drive manually.  In several I found folders named Autodesk or Maya, and I deleted them, reinstalled smoke, and then repeated. 

 

It was on my sixth or seventh time that I finally seem to have deleted every last remnant of autodesk and successfully reinstalled, finally able to open the program without receiving that same error 20 (or sometimes error 41) message.

 

~Jeffrey

Product Support
Robert.Adam
Posts: 2,604
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Message 6 of 10 (717 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 06:01 AM in reply to: jg131781

Thanks so much Jeffrey!

 

Regards,

Robert.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Flame and Smoke Customer Support
If my answer solved your issue, please click "Accept as Solution"
Active Member
jg131781
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 7 of 10 (703 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 12:16 PM in reply to: Robert.Adam

My pleasure.  If you're at all equipped to help me with my other problem, I would really appreciate it: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Hardware/Dvorak-keyboard-Smoke/td-p/2898154

 

I use a dvorak keyboard (if you don't know what that is-  www.dvzine.org).  I was extremely disappointed when I opened smoke and found that instead of recognizing my keyboard it used it's owned keyboard layout files, which, try as I might, I cannot find on my system to edit. 

 

I could change all the shortcuts, but even then the system would tell me to use one button when in fact I had mapped it to another, because the system won't recognize that my keys aren't those illustrated and defined by the "keyboard type box". 

 

Can anyone tell me where the files referenced in the "keyboard type box" are located on my computer, or where I might download such a layout file for a dvorak keyboard?

 

Thank you very much for your help.

Product Support
Robert.Adam
Posts: 2,604
Registered: ‎08-25-2010
Message 8 of 10 (701 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 12:20 PM in reply to: jg131781

Hi.

I have forwarded your question to a colleague of mine that knows more about the keyboard layouts.

I'll let you know what his answer is.

 

Thanks

Robert.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Flame and Smoke Customer Support
If my answer solved your issue, please click "Accept as Solution"
Active Member
jg131781
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
Message 9 of 10 (698 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

01-31-2011 12:47 PM in reply to: Robert.Adam

Very much obliged.

New Member
tech
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-15-2011
Message 10 of 10 (494 Views)

Re: ERROR: Tried Smoke 2011 (776C1 2011.0.0.F), error 20

04-15-2011 04:53 PM in reply to: Robert.Adam

Having the same issue.  the english trick didnt seem to work.  uninstalled and reinstalled a couple of times.  system seems to pass the specs.   Maybe the graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT.  Any help?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube