Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
hkaplan1227
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 1 of 4 (189 Views)

Dropped License problems

189 Views, 3 Replies
07-19-2013 10:57 AM

We have small group of people within the compnay still using Acad 2008. We have network licensing for all of our Autocad products. I have this 1 person who keep having the same problem. His licenses gets dropped while working.He does get a warning though.  I had heard that you can set the manager up to drop a license if you are idle for a period of time. But, we have never done that. I myself have left drawings up all night and never had this problem. It seems to be a random problem and it does not happen every day.

Anybody have an idea of the problem

Howard Kaplan, Civil3D 2014
Dell Optiplex 9010
Intel I-7 3770 CPU @ 3.4 Ghz
16 gb RAM, 64 bit

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,117
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (185 Views)

Re: Dropped License problems

07-19-2013 11:47 AM in reply to: hkaplan1227

This can happen manually if there is an adskflex.opt options file with a TIMEOUT or TIMEOUTALL option enabled.  You can check for this file in the same location as your Autodesk .LIC file and also verify in the debug.log file if it is being enabled and if the user's license is being checked IN for (INACTIVE) idle reasons.

 

Alternately, the user can lose a license if he loses a persistent connection to the NLM server.  There is a heartbeat check that allows for about 6 minutes before the license is deemed invalid.  If no connection is remade, the user must save and close the program.

 

You might check for PING connectivity to the server to make sure that there are no issues with packet loss.  Could be a bad Ethernet cable or some other network related problem. 

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Contributor
hkaplan1227
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 3 of 4 (181 Views)

Re: Dropped License problems

07-19-2013 11:58 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I read something about the TIMEOUT or TIMEOUTALL. But, wouldn't this problem occur with the other people using Autocad. We have 35 Cad users

I will talk tot he IT dept. as far as the connectivity issue

Thank You for the input

Howard Kaplan, Civil3D 2014
Dell Optiplex 9010
Intel I-7 3770 CPU @ 3.4 Ghz
16 gb RAM, 64 bit

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,117
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 4 (171 Views)

Re: Dropped License problems

07-19-2013 01:34 PM in reply to: hkaplan1227

Agreed.  I wouldn't be surprised if it turned out to be connectivity related.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.