Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Differences in the Student Version Licenses?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
jeffrey.t.werner
23179 Views, 4 Replies

Differences in the Student Version Licenses?

Hi, I am a college professor teaching 3D modeling and animation. We use Maya in class and one of my students was wondering if he could do freelance. I know that the Educational version and the free student version that they can download are for personal use only, but what about the student version they pay for? I know companies like Adobe and Pixologic let you use their paid for student licenses for commercial use as long as you are an individual and not a corporation (so things like freelance).

From my research I can’t find a difference in the licensing between the free download version and the paid for student version of Maya. So if I still can’t use it for freelance and it has all the same restrictions as the downloaded one, then why would anyone pay for the student version when they could just register and download it instead?

So I guess my main question here is what is the difference between the download version and the paid for version, and can I use the paid for student version for freelance purposes? Or would I have to buy a full professional license to do freelance? Any and all information would be helpful and greatly appreciated. Thank you.

--Jeff

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

Yeah, the student version is like $400 and you can only buy it if you can prove you are a student, but if you are a student then you can just register with Autodesk and download it off the website for free. So if the licensing is the same then why do they offer to buy a student version?