Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
hudony
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 1 of 4 (786 Views)

Deployment of autocad 2010 via SCCM failing....

786 Views, 3 Replies
02-28-2011 07:35 AM

Hi, I've read a lot of documentation (actually, everything I've been able to find for the last 2-3 days) on the subject and still, I cannot figure why autocad 2010 refuse to install via my sccm deployment.  Here is the story : I've created an autocad package and when I try to push it on a workstation using an sccm task list or a standard advertised application, the process stall (I can see in the process list that setup.exe is running but nothing is happening, hard disk stop spinning and I have to reboot to get rid of it) when it comes to install the software and server log is not giving me much infos and workstation logs are never created (even tough I've checked the box to do so).   I've browse the different autodesk "howtos" (how to create a package, how to create a deployment etc.) and I'm pretty sure that everything is set up as it should be.

 

I've read that AdminImage has to be included in the path and it is.  Directx 9.0C is also included (sp3 is installed on every workstation).

 

Weird thing is we can actually install it manually via RUN with the exact same string that sccm is supposed to trigger in his "program" component.

 

Any help would be much appreciated.

 

PS.

I've already managed to deploy many other applications via my sccm server so I know his configuration is working.

 

Thanks!

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,350
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 4 (752 Views)

Re: Deployment of autocad 2010 via SCCM failing....

02-28-2011 12:45 PM in reply to: hudony

Check out the following docs:

 

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACD/2011/ENU/filesInstall/WS1a9193826455f5ff-75c1f7c3124f51ccbd1-5fec.htm

 

You will need to push out the pre-requisites before pushing out your Autodesk product.

 

 



David Lau
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 251
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 3 of 4 (733 Views)

Re: Deployment of autocad 2010 via SCCM failing....

03-01-2011 12:24 PM in reply to: hudony

Below are a couple documents that may help with turning on logging on the clients and DirectX on XP workstations. Just having DirectX 9.0c won't always allow the installer to continue setup is looking for a particular month release, so try installing it from the AutoCAD DVD.

On the Server under the System Status and your Advertisment Status do you get any errors reported against the client machine?

What is the command string you are using to install?

 

Enabling verbose logging for installation issues
http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1070015

DirectX and Microsoft System Center Configuration Manager 2007
http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1106168

 



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
hudony
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 4 of 4 (712 Views)

Re: Deployment of autocad 2010 via SCCM failing....

03-02-2011 07:15 AM in reply to: hudony

I've had allready read those documents.

 

Anyway, I've finally managed to get it right.

 

I'll post the complete solution in another post so it can help others.

 

Thank you,

 

**This one can actually be deleted***

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube