Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
phil-mcam
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 1 of 4 (123 Views)

Converting to Single License Server, Client still seeks Redundant Servers

123 Views, 3 Replies
10-31-2011 11:22 AM

Running ACADM 2011. Switching from reduntant to single license server.

 

Installed new single server license file. Changed all LICPATH.LIC files on client machines to point only at this server.

 

Cannot start ACAD without formerly redundant license servers running. "unable to find license", plus a long lag while client looks for old license servers.

 

Everything works perfectly as long as the old redundant servers are online, despite the new license file and new LICPATH.LIC paths. 

 

What am I missing? 

 

Thanks for your help.

Phil

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 4 (122 Views)

Re: Converting to Single License Server, Client still seeks Redundant Servers

10-31-2011 11:30 AM in reply to: phil-mcam
Valued Contributor
phil-mcam
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 3 of 4 (111 Views)

Re: Converting to Single License Server, Client still seeks Redundant Servers

10-31-2011 04:06 PM in reply to: phil-mcam

I appreciate your time with this. 

 

The environmental variable issue requires system down time.

 

In the mean time, is there some other setting I am unaware of? I mean, should I need to set the variable? There currently isn't one erroneously sending the clients looking towards the old defunct license servers. Creating this variable seems to be a work around for the way this ought to work where the LICPATH.LIC file would tell the client machines to look at the new license file, via LM Tools.

 

So if it's not LICPATH, and it's not my new single server license file, what's telling the machines that the old redundant servers are still in the loop? 

 

Thanks again,

Phil

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 4 (99 Views)

Re: Converting to Single License Server, Client still seeks Redundant Servers

11-01-2011 02:23 PM in reply to: phil-mcam

It's not a work-around.  The license manager documentation specifies that the NLM will look for the vendor environment variable first followed by other methods.  The ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE system environment variable is the most accurate way to ensure the proper connection.  Setting this variable in Windows is immediate and does not require any rebooting or down-time.  Make sure you can PING the new NLM server and receive a valid IPv4 (not IPv6) address and set your variable according to the KB link provided.

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=8385605&linkID=9240617

 

Good Luck!

 

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube