Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Burris, Daniel
Message 1 of 11 (112 Views)

Controlling number of licenses a user can access

112 Views, 10 Replies
02-14-2002 05:35 AM
Is there away of controlling the number licenses a user can access at one
time. I have a user that likes to run 2000i in Single Drawing Interface
mode, but he likes to work on multiple drawings at the same time. I have
told hime not to do this, that 2000i will access multiply drawings at once
in one session, but he continues to due this. What I would like to do is
lock him down to only accessing one license at a time, that way he can not
use up multiply licenses.

Thanks Dan
*martin, jason
Message 2 of 11 (112 Views)

Re: Controlling number of licenses a user can access

02-14-2002 05:53 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Daniel -
It only "looks" like he is pulling multiple licenses. If you'll check the number available against the number that you have you'll
find that he is only being issued 1 license even if the interface looks like he is using more.
--
jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

"Daniel Burris" wrote in message news:F20C1947309400D585221C898ED39B85@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Is there away of controlling the number licenses a user can access at one
> time. I have a user that likes to run 2000i in Single Drawing Interface
> mode, but he likes to work on multiple drawings at the same time. I have
> told hime not to do this, that 2000i will access multiply drawings at once
> in one session, but he continues to due this. What I would like to do is
> lock him down to only accessing one license at a time, that way he can not
> use up multiply licenses.
>
> Thanks Dan
>
>
*Burris, Daniel
Message 3 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 06:06 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Jason
We have checked this and he is pulling multiple licenses. We have 19
licenses available in this office, when he is accessing multiple sessions of
AutoCAD, the log shows he has that number of licenses in use.

"jason martin" wrote in message
news:A7C70AEB17E16EF7C5F7EB1C44DB449E@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Daniel -
> It only "looks" like he is pulling multiple licenses. If you'll check the
number available against the number that you have you'll
> find that he is only being issued 1 license even if the interface looks
like he is using more.
> --
> jason martin
> frankfurt-short-bruza
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
> "Daniel Burris" wrote in message
news:F20C1947309400D585221C898ED39B85@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Is there away of controlling the number licenses a user can access at
one
> > time. I have a user that likes to run 2000i in Single Drawing Interface
> > mode, but he likes to work on multiple drawings at the same time. I have
> > told hime not to do this, that 2000i will access multiply drawings at
once
> > in one session, but he continues to due this. What I would like to do is
> > lock him down to only accessing one license at a time, that way he can
not
> > use up multiply licenses.
> >
> > Thanks Dan
> >
> >
>
>
*martin, jason
Message 4 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 06:28 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Daniel -

The log lies!!
Use the tcp/ip query tool.
Have him open as many sessions as his machine will handle (10, 15 something like that) and try to get most everyone else out of it.
Do a server query for code 160 and it will report back the number of licenses the server still has available. I think that you'll
find he's not actually using 10 or 15 licenses.
--
jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

"Daniel Burris" wrote in message news:A87344BAA8409A9293216B7426263F7C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Jason
> We have checked this and he is pulling multiple licenses. We have 19
> licenses available in this office, when he is accessing multiple sessions of
> AutoCAD, the log shows he has that number of licenses in use.
*Burris, Daniel
Message 5 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 06:56 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Jason
We've done this and he has used up all aviable licenses. Actually the query
toolis what I was looking at not the log. When he does this he has used up
to 6 licenses at one time in the past, and we had him shut down five
sessions of AutoCAD so other users can access the licenses, and it solve the
problem with the licenses at that time. But he still insist on doing this,
and this is why I want to control how many licenses he can access.

"jason martin" wrote in message
news:4B7C51B4CED92EE33E9BFC0B55A97F02@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Daniel -
>
> The log lies!!
> Use the tcp/ip query tool.
> Have him open as many sessions as his machine will handle (10, 15
something like that) and try to get most everyone else out of it.
> Do a server query for code 160 and it will report back the number of
licenses the server still has available. I think that you'll
> find he's not actually using 10 or 15 licenses.
> --
> jason martin
> frankfurt-short-bruza
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
> "Daniel Burris" wrote in message
news:A87344BAA8409A9293216B7426263F7C@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Jason
> > We have checked this and he is pulling multiple licenses. We have 19
> > licenses available in this office, when he is accessing multiple
sessions of
> > AutoCAD, the log shows he has that number of licenses in use.
>
>
>
*martin, jason
Message 6 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 07:13 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Daniel -

According to everything I know about the elan adlm this can't happen (shows what I know). See
http://support.autodesk.com/enu/knowledgebase/html/401175.htm .

You can probably limit the number of licenses he can check out using the resource file. You can get documentation on it at
http://support.autodesk.com/enu/knowledgebase/html/154338.htm (I know that this is R14 stuff, but the elan adlm is the same
(mostly)).
--
jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program


"Daniel Burris" wrote in message news:4881091FABDCF0F53CFD295982360551@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Jason
> We've done this and he has used up all aviable licenses. Actually the query
> toolis what I was looking at not the log. When he does this he has used up
> to 6 licenses at one time in the past, and we had him shut down five
> sessions of AutoCAD so other users can access the licenses, and it solve the
> problem with the licenses at that time. But he still insist on doing this,
> and this is why I want to control how many licenses he can access.
>
*Burris, Daniel
Message 7 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 07:17 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Jason
I have tried the resource file, this will let you do everything but control
number of licenses a user can access.

"jason martin" wrote in message
news:599DBA3B0066A8D61431B8EBF1A6C254@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Daniel -
>
> According to everything I know about the elan adlm this can't happen
(shows what I know). See
> http://support.autodesk.com/enu/knowledgebase/html/401175.htm .
>
> You can probably limit the number of licenses he can check out using the
resource file. You can get documentation on it at
> http://support.autodesk.com/enu/knowledgebase/html/154338.htm (I know that
this is R14 stuff, but the elan adlm is the same
> (mostly)).
> --
> jason martin
> frankfurt-short-bruza
>
> Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program
>
>
> "Daniel Burris" wrote in message
news:4881091FABDCF0F53CFD295982360551@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > Jason
> > We've done this and he has used up all aviable licenses. Actually the
query
> > toolis what I was looking at not the log. When he does this he has used
up
> > to 6 licenses at one time in the past, and we had him shut down five
> > sessions of AutoCAD so other users can access the licenses, and it solve
the
> > problem with the licenses at that time. But he still insist on doing
this,
> > and this is why I want to control how many licenses he can access.
> >
>
>
>
*Nehls, Kevin
Message 8 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 07:20 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Daniel,

Jason is correct, this cannot happen. At least in a TCP/IP
environment. I know it hasn't happened here and I've open
multiple sessions of AutoCAD both using MDI and SDI. Are
you in a TCP/IP environment?

--
Kevin Nehls

"jason martin" wrote in message
news:599DBA3B0066A8D61431B8EBF1A6C254@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Daniel -
>
> According to everything I know about the elan adlm this
can't happen (shows what I know). See
>
http://support.autodesk.com/enu/knowledgebase/html/401175.ht
m .

*Nehls, Kevin
Message 9 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 07:29 AM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
To further explain our point. I just started up 5 sessions
of AutoCAD in SDI. Then opened up the TCP/IP winquery.exe
program. It showed my name in there 5 times, but I was
using the same License ID (LID) for each session. This is
the "license number". If nobody is getting a message that
there are no licenses available I wouldn't worry about it.

--
Kevin Nehls

"Daniel Burris" wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:C1990DEA4E4718874627A3C27945F86@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Jason
> I have tried the resource file, this will let you do
everything but control
> number of licenses a user can access.
*martin, jason
Message 10 of 11 (112 Views)

Re:

02-14-2002 12:36 PM in reply to: *Burris, Daniel
Daniel -
I agree that the resource file won't do that "natively", but let's look at
it from the other direction.

Okay, you said you have 19 licenses. Let's say you have a total of 25 users
(complete guess, but it doesn't matter). Create a group with all of the
"other users" excluding "Bob" (that's the name I just assigned to the "bad"
user) from the group. Now reserve 18 licenses for the other users group.
This will effectively "check out" 18 licenses from the adlm, leaving only 1
for Bob.

Warning: I've not actually tried this, it just works in my head (but in my
head, you shouldn't be experiencing what you are anyway?)

BTW: What's his argument for multiple sessions over MDI mode? Just
curious...
--
jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

Member of the Autodesk Discussion Forum Moderator Program

Daniel Burris wrote in message
news:smileyvery-happy:C1990DEA4E4718874627A3C27945F86@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Jason
> I have tried the resource file, this will let you do everything but
control
> number of licenses a user can access.
>

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube