Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
bryancollins3174
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 1 of 15 (4,609 Views)

Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

4609 Views, 14 Replies
07-08-2010 10:07 AM

I have installed Civil 3d 2010 using the Home Use License CDs provided to me from our IT guys who got them through Autodesk.  At the time I wasn't provided the code, just the serial number but I needed to use the software immediately so I used the Trial version 000-000000 or whatever that trial code.  The trial has run out.  So now when I want to 'Activate' the software and I click on the 'Activate' button a registration window pops up, but there is only notepad-like gibberish text.

 

I repaired the install and still the gibberish text when trying to activate.

 

Can anyone shed some light on this problem?

 

I thought about uninstalling and re-installing the software, but I read on the Installation Guide.pdf that when you uninstall the software the license information is left on the computer to eliminate having to reactivate so wouldn't I potentially be in the same boat again.

 

Hopefully someone can help me with this major problem.  I really need to get this software working so I can start my personal certification training at home.

 

Thanks for your time and effort.

 

Bryan Collins

CADD Technician

Bryan Collins
Cadd Technician
Windows 7 Prof w/ SP1, 64bit, Xeon 3Ghz, 16GB
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,927
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 15 (4,608 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-08-2010 10:18 AM in reply to: bryancollins3174

I recommend upgrading your Internet Explorer to IE8 and making sure it is your default browser.  Your file associations for .CHM, .HTM, and .HTML need to be set to open for Internet Explorer.  You may also find some useful information on this link:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=10244471&linkID=9240817

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
bryancollins3174
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 3 of 15 (4,582 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-09-2010 04:32 AM in reply to: TravisNave

After getting your reply I went home last night with some hope that I might be able to solve my problem.  That wasn't the case though.

 

Downloaded and Installed all Windows 7 64 bit updates

Downloaded latest Java Runtime Environment (java.com)

Turned off Anti-virus and Malware Softwares

Turned off Firewall

Already had IE 8 as my default browser, but went ahead and set the Securities to 'Default'

Emptied History, Cookies, ect.

Emptied Temp folder under User Account

Emptied Temp folder under Windows

Unregistered jscript.dll and vbscript.dll

Re-registered jscript.dll and vbscript.dll

Rebooted system in Diagnostic Mode with only FlexLicense service turned on

 

Still the program gives me gibberish text when I try and Activate the software.  I've attached an image of what the page looks like when I click the 'Activate' button.  The .js errors...well have to cancel/esc about 15 or so times to get rid of the various .js script messages.

 

Also like to mention on the re-install I got the following error message when Service Pack 2 was trying to load.

'1328 error applying patch to file c:\config.msi\ptab44.tmp. it has probably been updated by other means and can no longer be modified by this patch. for more information contact your patch vendor.'  Guess Autodesk don't know how to code their uninstaller so that I uninstalls or deletes everything it adds to a system...including registry entries and file folders/sub-folders as well.

 

Please let me know where I go from here.

Bryan Collins
Cadd Technician
Windows 7 Prof w/ SP1, 64bit, Xeon 3Ghz, 16GB
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,927
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 15 (4,569 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-09-2010 07:23 AM in reply to: bryancollins3174

Your picture kind of looks like to me that there is a file association problem with web documents not loading with Internet Explorer.  You might check your .js file extensions and see what they are associated with. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
bryancollins3174
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 5 of 15 (4,563 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-09-2010 07:46 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Being very, very new to the Win7 OS how exactly or where do I go to check those file associations?  And when I get there should they all be targeting IE 8?

 

I really appreciate your help in this matter.  I think hair is turning grey faster dealing with all this stress.

Bryan Collins
Cadd Technician
Windows 7 Prof w/ SP1, 64bit, Xeon 3Ghz, 16GB
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,927
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 15 (4,560 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-09-2010 08:04 AM in reply to: bryancollins3174

Go to the Control Panel, then click Programs > Default Programs and then choose the option to associate files with a program.  Check the associations for all web-based files like .chm, .htm, .html, and especially .js.  The .js should be opening with the Windows based script host.  The htm[l] files should be opening with IE8.  The .chm should be with the Windows help system.  You might just comb thru that and make sure everything is set properly. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
bryancollins3174
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 7 of 15 (4,510 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-18-2010 05:19 PM in reply to: TravisNave
Tried all that, including the file association but still can't register because of the gibberish text. I found the Uninstall procedure and followed it to the 'T' and then reinstall yet again, but when I go to Activate it just gives me text gibberish and script errors galore like it is having a problem loading a web page or something. Any other solutions? Where do I go from here? Where do I go to get Autodesk's direct help with this matter? Also during the reinstall I got the Error 1328 again as well, something about can't patch C:\Config.Msi\PT14.tmp (think that file name might change though not sure) because it has already been patched. That file didn't exist before Autodesk installation and guess what...doesn't exist on the system after installation either. Is it a ghost a file or something. I'm wondering if I should just get another set of installation discs or something. Thanks for your help. Bryan Collins
Bryan Collins
Cadd Technician
Windows 7 Prof w/ SP1, 64bit, Xeon 3Ghz, 16GB
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,927
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 15 (4,496 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-19-2010 07:18 AM in reply to: bryancollins3174

I doubt the discs will help.  The issue is that your activation page isn't launching because of a script issue in the browser on your computer.  Until that gets resolved, you'll continue to experience the same issue. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
bryancollins3174
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 9 of 15 (4,494 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-19-2010 07:36 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Well I don't know what else to try.  I've done everything mentioned to do with IE 8.  Fully updated, no pop-up blocker, no add-ons, file associates are correct, IE 8 is my default browser, windows firewall off, antivirus off, temp directories clean. All IE 8 setting have been defaulted.

 

I don't get this.  I haven't had any problems with anything on this Windows 7 Pro 64bit system until this issue.

 

Anymore suggestions.

 

Bryan Collins

Bryan Collins
Cadd Technician
Windows 7 Prof w/ SP1, 64bit, Xeon 3Ghz, 16GB
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,927
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 15 (4,492 Views)

Re: Civil 3d 2010 Home License Use Activation Issue - Trouble Activating

07-19-2010 07:39 AM in reply to: bryancollins3174

Are you sure you don't have any issues with spyware infection, virus, BHO, ActiveX, or other malware issues attached to your browser? 

 

Do you get the same error logged in as a different user?

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube