Installation & Licensing

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
andrew.warren
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎02-07-2006
Message 1 of 6 (285 Views)
Accepted Solution

Change SN on Network Install?

285 Views, 5 Replies
04-27-2012 08:28 AM

On a network install you cannot go to About and then change the SN. Isn't their a way to edit the regestry or somehting to change it? We have a new IT guy and he acidently used the old SN to install a bunch of AutoCAD Electrical seats. I want to change all of them (one at a time I know) to the new SN. But I don't want to spend three weeks uninstalling and reinatalling them. We are talking potentually 50-75 workstations...

Andy Warren
BCDesign@bellsouth.net
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (284 Views)

Re: Change SN on Network Install?

04-27-2012 08:34 AM in reply to: andrew.warren

the serial number gets pulled from the license file

during install it doesn't matter what serial number you use since its a network license

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: Change SN on Network Install?

04-27-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Mark Darren's post as the solution, because he could not be more right.  The serial number for network products is irrelevent to the licensing.  For all intents and purposes, they could all have 000-00000000 and it would still work.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 6 (279 Views)

Re: Change SN on Network Install?

04-27-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: DarrenP

you can change it through the registry

its under the hkey_local_machine/software/autodesk

but you don't really need to

Distinguished Contributor
andrew.warren
Posts: 217
Registered: ‎02-07-2006
Message 5 of 6 (274 Views)

Re: Change SN on Network Install?

04-27-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: DarrenP

They hired me to help clean things up beacuse of a big LC todo. So I just want to be sure before I leave them be...

Andy Warren
BCDesign@bellsouth.net
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 6 (268 Views)

Re: Change SN on Network Install?

04-27-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: andrew.warren

you can run your license file through this website to get serial numbers from it: www.licenseparser.com

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube