Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 20 (619 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cannot obtain license file +++

619 Views, 19 Replies
06-13-2013 12:02 PM

This may not be as easy to answer as you think.

 

Cannot obtain license file +++

This may not be as easy to answer as you think.

 

It all started here:  C3D can't pull license after IDSP 2014 upgrade.

 

As part of the diagnosis process with Autodesk Support I was asked to repair, reinstall, uninstall/reinstall, etc. After the first reinstall I have never been able to get Civil 3D to pull a network license even though I reverted to our 2012 license file on the server. Others in the office can. But I can’t. The weirdest thing about it is that I CAN pull a license for Land Desktop Companion. So I know my computer is seeing the server and can read the license file. Other can read the file and pull a license.

 

The Licensing Error message is “A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager” “Error [-5.412.0]

 

Running a Status Inquiry in LMTools confirms there are open licenses for Civil 3D.

 

I dug up the original email with the 2012 license file and replaced the one on the license server.

 

I went as far as to completely recreate the network deployment from the original download files and reinstall from that deployment.

 

I used LMutil.exe to check the lmpath –status to confirm the path was correct.

 

I can ping the server and have verified that it is an IPv4 response.

 

I have created Windows System Variable ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE & FLEXLM_TIMEOUT and set them to @<servername> & 2000000 respectively.

 

I have renamed all the licpath.lic files because I’ve had trouble, in the past, having the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE variable stick even though it should take precedence.

 

I’ve tried deleting the CascadeInfo.css file because this started with a cascade problem.

 

There are probably a few other things I’ve tried in between that I don’t remember.

 

As I said; the weird thing is that Land Desktop Companion [A “Companion” program (actually a predecessor of Civil) shipped with and installed with Civil 3D] will get a network license from the license file with no problem.  

 

Any suggestions that don’t involve smashing the computer or dumping Autodesk for software will be welcome.

 

 

Allen Jessup


Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400, Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit,12 GB RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 4600

 

 

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 20 (614 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:07 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

even after uninstalling/installing civil 3d 2012 you still weren't to able install the hotfix?

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 20 (609 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:11 PM in reply to: DarrenP

That's right.

 

But that isn't even that problem. I reverted to the 2012 license file and now everyone can pull a license except me. So the hotfix shouldn't apply.

 

Autodesk support created a C3D 2012 deployment and couldn't find that file it says it can't find.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 20 (604 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

what does the license manager log say?

any denied access?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 5 of 20 (600 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:21 PM in reply to: DarrenP

try deleting this reg key

Hkey current user>software>flex LM license manager

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 6 of 20 (598 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:23 PM in reply to: DarrenP

DarrenP wrote:

what does the license manager log say?

any denied access?


Good thought!

This license cannot be checked out because:
A PACKAGE component must be specified.
Feature:       64900CIV3D_F
License path:  C:\Program Files\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\ACAD12.lic;
FlexNet Licensing error:-125,147

 

I not an expert at reading the lic file. But it looks complete to me.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 7 of 20 (592 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:29 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

AllenJessup wrote:

DarrenP wrote:

what does the license manager log say?

any denied access?


Good thought!

This license cannot be checked out because:
A PACKAGE component must be specified.
Feature:       64900CIV3D_F
License path:  C:\Program Files\Autodesk Network License Manager\License\ACAD12.lic;
FlexNet Licensing error:-125,147

 

I not an expert at reading the lic file. But it looks complete to me.

 

Allen


this error can be ignored according to this:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/FLEXnet-Licensing-error-125-147/td-p/2971442

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 8 of 20 (590 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: DarrenP
Is that the Debug.log or the CIV3D2012ENUAdlm.log?

Neither mentions Access Denied.

Allen




-----------------------------------------------------------------
This email, including attachments, may include confidential and/or
proprietary information. If the reader of this email is not the
intended recipient or his or her authorized agent, the reader is
hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying
of this email is prohibited. If you have received this email in
error, please notify the sender by replying to this message and
deleting this email immediately.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 20 (589 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:41 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

the debug log

its the log that is on the config services tab

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,788
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 10 of 20 (586 Views)

Re: Cannot obtain license file +++

06-13-2013 12:47 PM in reply to: DarrenP
This is the latest from the log.

15:13:30 (adskflex) IN: "59700CIV3D_2009_0F" JessupA@001F5FC9D8A2

15:13:30 (adskflex) IN: "64900CIV3D_F" JessupA@001F5FC9D8A2

15:18:10 (adskflex) IN: "59700CIV3D_2009_0F" Mahoneym@AD545BC29B4B

15:18:10 (adskflex) IN: "64900CIV3D_F" Mahoneym@BC305BA54A5C

15:28:46 (adskflex) OUT: "64900CIV3D_F" JessupA@001F5FC9D8A2

15:28:46 (adskflex) OUT: "59700CIV3D_2009_0F" JessupA@001F5FC9D8A2

Allen




-----------------------------------------------------------------
This email, including attachments, may include confidential and/or
proprietary information. If the reader of this email is not the
intended recipient or his or her authorized agent, the reader is
hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution, or copying
of this email is prohibited. If you have received this email in
error, please notify the sender by replying to this message and
deleting this email immediately.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube