Installation & Licensing

Reply
Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 1 of 10 (870 Views)
Accepted Solution

Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

870 Views, 9 Replies
06-12-2012 08:33 AM

I tried to install this service pack (in both 32-bit and 64-bit versions) and I get an installation error for both of them: "the service pack could not be installed because the expected Autodesk product could not be located on your computer. Make sure that you are using the correct service pack for the product."

I tried installing it (both 32-bit and 64-bit) without AutoCAD open, with Civil 3D as AutoCAD open, with Civil 3D open, and in each case I get the same error. I there a special civil 3-D service pack 2?

And, yes, I have administrator privileges on this machine and am explicitly running the install as administrator.

 

[Product Information Properties] Tuesday, June 12, 2012 11:08:35 AM

License name: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012

Computer host name: WTR124

Product serial number: 392-########

Product key: #####

License type: Standalone - Locked

License expiration date: None

License behavior: Permanent

License usage type: Commercial

License ID: CIV3D_F_S

 

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 10 (869 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 08:44 AM in reply to: coopdetat

that service pack is for autocad not Civil 3d

Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 3 of 10 (867 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: coopdetat

P.S. Live Update in the Communication Center says "Your Product is Up To Date"

Product Version F.107.0.0.AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 SP1

Is the service pack not applicable to Civil 3D?

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 10 (865 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 08:47 AM in reply to: coopdetat

no its not

civil 3d has its own service packs

Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 5 of 10 (863 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 08:53 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Not so vertical then is it? Sort of parallel universe kinda thing.  I have C3D 2013 but like a little stabilization of a version before going to the next.  So do they fix some problems as well as create new ones in C3D 2013 or do they just create new problems?

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 10 (860 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 08:54 AM in reply to: coopdetat

usually both

Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 7 of 10 (857 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 09:18 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Your response was brief but very good. it prompted me think critically again and quit QQ'ing.  I've been holding off going to C3D 2013 for an invalid reason.  Everybody else here is using C3D 2009.  I didn't want to change file formats on them... but I already have.  I work in 2010 format and they in 2007.  I'm the office "pilot program" for new versions so...

 

Thanks!  I'm going to install C3D 2013.  It is best to be using the latest version when the others make the leap to what I'm using.

 

 

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 10 (852 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-12-2012 09:23 AM in reply to: coopdetat

with every release of any of the autodesk products they all introduce new features those new features usually break a feature that worked in the previous version of the software which some of the new features can usually break by a service pack

Mentor
coopdetat
Posts: 196
Registered: ‎03-25-2011
Message 9 of 10 (790 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-20-2012 07:21 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I was looking for the VBA download for 2012 and 13 at home and I also found that both Service Pack 1 and 2 were listed there in the available updates.  There was no separate service pack 1 for Civil 3D 2012 that I saw.  I can't remember when or where I got service pack 1 but I have it installed and it appears that service pack 1 for "AutoCAD" was also applicable to "AutoCAD C3D".

 

It would help if Autodesk would explicitly identify the products the service packs are applicable to so that users like me can be sure of which service packs are applicable.  Without the information I cannot be sure whether I am experiencing an error or trying to instal a service pack that does not apply.

 

Autodesk, can you clear this up?

---------------------------------------------Signature--------------------------------------------
Civil Design Professional Since 1983 (Intergraph), AutoCAD since 1989
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit - Service Pack 1
Intel﴾R﴿ Core﴾TM﴿ i7-3820 CPU 3.60GHz; 16 GB DDR3 Dual Channel RAM
nVidia Quadro 4000; AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014, sp1
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 10 (786 Views)

Re: Cannot Install AutoCAD 2012 Service Pack 2

06-20-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: coopdetat

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube