Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
chris
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 1 of 10 (4,840 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

4840 Views, 9 Replies
04-11-2012 07:03 AM

Hello,

 

I just recieved my copy of Revit Structure 2013. I am running a SSD with very limited space left (about 3gb). I also have another hard drive for programs. I want to install Revit 2013 onto the other Hard drive. So during install I change the "Installation Path" from C:\Programs\Autodesk (SSD) to B:\Programs\Autodesk (the other Hard drive). But even doing this it still wants to install 9.23gb on the SSD and only 873mb on the other hard drive. Whats going on here? Any suggestions?

 

 

Thanks!!!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,984
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 10 (4,834 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 08:25 AM in reply to: chris

There are always going to be files that will need to be installed to your root.  These are files linking to your profile, system dlls, prerequisite installs, material libraries, SQL server, etc. 

 

You should really make sure that you always have no less than 20% free space on your C:\. Consider moving your swap file and other files to your extra drives. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 252
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 3 of 10 (4,827 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 10:02 AM in reply to: chris

By default all the Templates and Libraries for Revit are still trying to install to C:\ProgramData.

On the product selection dialog of the install, just under the Revit Structure 2013 name pick the arrow to configure the install.

Scroll down to the Configurable Folders section

Change the Libraries and Templates from Default to Local

Specify a path on the B driver where you want these files and choose the Append button

When done choose the arrow again to complete the configuration

Should use much less space on the C drive now although some space will still be required.



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
chris
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-22-2010
Message 4 of 10 (4,822 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

04-11-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Thanks Danny. That worked. Installed and running!

New Member
danielgriffiths8797
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-14-2012
Message 5 of 10 (4,741 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

06-14-2012 11:01 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

Im have the exact same problem except with the Building design suite, however I cannot even make it to the product select screen in the installer, i'm met with this message when I go to install

 

The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Users\Name\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI2DD4.tmp\Content\ADSKMaterials\2013\ILM\MediumImageLibrary2013.msi

 

Any help would be greatly appreiciated.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,984
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 10 (4,719 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

06-15-2012 08:50 AM in reply to: danielgriffiths8797

Install as another user with local admin rights, UAC turned off, and anti-virus disabled. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
akber.a.khan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2013
Message 7 of 10 (3,908 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

02-15-2013 05:06 AM in reply to: DannyHubbard

There is no configurable folders section if trying to use mudbox.

New Member
schwoe
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
Message 8 of 10 (2,560 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

09-26-2013 05:52 AM in reply to: chris

I am trying to install the 2014 release and it doesn't seem to be possible to change the installation directory of the core software to another drive than the boot drive.

Please, you can't be serious to require almost 7GB of free space on drive C. I won't be able to free up that much space. It was possible in former version to install to another drive. Why can't I do this anymore and what should I tell my students who need this software for a lab assignment?

Please fix this.

 

Edit: Just to describe the problem more accurately: I can change the installation path in the bottom of the installer window, but it doesn't seem to have any effect, because on the lower right it says "required space 0.98 GB" so I am assuming, that the installer tries to install the material libraries to drive D: and the core application to drive C:. When I hit install a window pops up telling me there is not enough space on drive C:

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,984
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 9 of 10 (2,552 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

09-26-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: schwoe

Please understand that some parts of the installation files are necessary to be installed on the root system drive. Shortcuts, registry settings, and profile customizations are all examples of this. However, you may be able to make some system changes that will allow you to install your Autodesk product and avoid this error. Please review my KB article for more information:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Out-of-disk-space-during-installation-to-anothe...

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
andreswe
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2014
Message 10 of 10 (1,506 Views)

Re: Can't Install on a non-bootable Hard drive

02-25-2014 02:48 AM in reply to: chris

I know how to do if you still dont have sapce in C: and you want install in other disk:

First follow the above instructions to free disk space. (have at least 3 o 4 gb free on C:smileyhappy:

Then:

1) backup setup.ini

2) delete from setup.ini the lines:

DISKCOST_FUNC=BSDGetDiskCost

DISKCOST_SOURCE=Setup\AecSetup.dll 

3) modify the lines DISKCOST=3000000 or similar to DISKCOST=30

4) installa and change the install disk to d:, e or the disk that you have enought space

That worked for me

Regards

Andres

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube