Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 1 of 7 (207 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

207 Views, 6 Replies
03-31-2014 10:37 PM

Hi, let me explain the scenario.

 

Machine A has Insight and Synergy installed on it. The license for Synergy is configured on Machine A & the license for Insight is configured on Machine B. Now, is it possible for Machine A to pick synergy's license from itself and pick insight's license from Machine B?

 

In simple terms, can two software installed on the same machine have two different license server?

 

Note: I know there is a possibility of merging the licenses and having them on a single server which would eliminate this issue completely, but we cannot do that as each license has been bought in a different company's name.

 

Any help would be appreciated.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,197
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 7 (181 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 06:24 AM in reply to: prem.savio

that sounds like a distubuted license model

Distributed license server model. Licenses are distributed across more than one server. A unique license file is required for each server. To create a distributed license server, you must run NLM on each server that is part of the distributed server pool.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 7 (173 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 08:30 AM in reply to: prem.savio

Darren nailed it, as usual.  Your best bet would just be to use a system environment variable to point to both servers.  If you are using multiple vendors, you can use:

 

LM_LICENSE_FILE with value of @server1;@server2 

 

Alternately you can use VENDOR_LICENSE_FILE for the vendor daemon.  For example, Autodesk's adskflex vendor daemon would be ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE and you'd point to the appropriate servers. 

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 4 of 7 (156 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 09:09 PM in reply to: DarrenP
Thanks for the reply DarrenP

But wouldn't a Distributed license server model have multiple licenses with the SAME serial no. I'm talking about two totally different products with different serial nos, each of whose license has been configured on different machines.
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 5 of 7 (155 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-01-2014 09:14 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the reply, Travis.

 

The fact that you have mentioned SERVER 1 & SERVER 2 for a single environmental variable tells me that it is possible for a single machine to have multiple Autodesk servers, isn't it?

 

Excuse me for asking the obvious, but i just want your confirmation.

 

Regards

Prem Savio

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 7 (142 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-02-2014 07:40 AM in reply to: prem.savio

That is correct sir. And they don't have to be the same serial or the same product. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
prem.savio
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Message 7 of 7 (125 Views)

Re: Can a single machine have multiple Autodesk servers?

04-02-2014 09:19 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you. Now its clear.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube