Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
jason
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-31-2006
Message 1 of 3 (262 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can I use 2 different groups to control license in the Options file?

262 Views, 2 Replies
11-07-2012 09:28 AM

I have 5 machines that have the full Infrastructure Design Suite Premium on them.  4 are dedicated machines for users.  1 is in our conference room and would be used in meetings at times.

 

We have 4 IDSP licenses and 9 C3D licenses.

 

What I would like to do is allow the conference room machine to use the IDSP license when available as we would only have one of the four dedicated users operating the software.  At other times it would use the C3D license if needed.

 

What I did was a RESERVE statement to reserve the 4 IDSP licenses to a group that included the five users (4 + conference room).

 

I then created another group which only included the four dedicated users and excluded them from the C3D licenses.  

 

However it didn't work.  I can use an IDSP license when available but when it is not, I cannot open a C3D license.

 

We are using 2012 software.

 

Any help would be really appreciated .

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,350
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 3 (259 Views)

Re: Can I use 2 different groups to control license in the Options file?

11-07-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: jason

For 2012 Civil, you may need to run a minor update to get it to read an IFDS license.

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/06/autodesk-suites-civil-3d-infrastructure-suite-lic...

 

I would also try using the PACKAGE code when trying the options file as well.

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/05/general-licensing-using-the-wwwlicenseparsercom-t...

 

 



David Lau
Contributor
jason
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎05-31-2006
Message 3 of 3 (244 Views)

Re: Can I use 2 different groups to control license in the Options file?

11-07-2012 11:53 AM in reply to: david.lau

The patch worked.  I had forgotten to install it on the conference room computer.

 

I will look into the PACKAGE code, I have never used that before.

 

Thanks David!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube