Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,082
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 1 of 3 (149 Views)

C3D Object Enabler, log file?

149 Views, 2 Replies
10-10-2013 10:01 AM

Does anyone know if the x64 C3D object enabler has a provision for an install log file?

We are trying to install it via script (Civil3D_2013_OE_64Bit.exe /quiet /norestart) and it's failing, but there is no log file to see what might be going on.

 

TIA

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 3 (143 Views)

Re: C3D Object Enabler, log file?

10-10-2013 11:18 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

Hmm...  Well you might see if turning on verbose logging in the Windows Installer helps:

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2545723

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/223300

 

I am not sure if you can add the /L*v switch or not to your installation or not.  I assume you have also verified that no log is being created in %TEMP% or any other location?

 

This might require some Autodesk input, ultimately.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 3 of 3 (108 Views)

Re: C3D Object Enabler, log file?

10-18-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

rkmcswain,

 

Hello. Log files are usually created in the temp directory and I have seen them for object enablers too.

In the Windows Run box type %TEMP% and press eneter, search on “enabler”.  I found a log file in here, but it is a different type of log compared to our program installers.

 

Sometimes you may get a message in teh Windows Event log as well.

 

You are in the MSI realm, so I know there are plenty of switches you can use during an install, not all seem to work the same. 

 

When troubleshooting things like this I usually try things in a particular approach:

-Install normally. Run the exe and see if you install

-Install via script, no special switches and see if you install

-Install via script and modify to see if there are issues at that stage

 

There may be info in your log file if it is getting created

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube