Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Murph
Posts: 1,921
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 11 of 18 (139 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-09-2013 03:18 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Postmaster_G wrote:

From the desktop... I have my license server setup properly as it works for 2012.

 

... perhaps I will get a better response when I submit my error log).


Are you trying to install a network version of 2013 or a standalone version?

Murph
Supportting the troops daily.
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 12 of 18 (121 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-10-2013 08:07 PM in reply to: Murph

It is a network version, the same as my 2012.  They are on the same server and the 2012 finds the files just fine.

 

I am getting ready right now to install 2013 once again so I can generate the error log and post it here.

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 13 of 18 (115 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-10-2013 09:00 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

Well,  Here is what the install log gave me...

 

 

 

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 14 of 18 (112 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-10-2013 09:04 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

I ran the install again, and this is what it now says.  I has done this before so I wont be supprised if it doesn't start again.

I am rebooting now.

Distinguished Mentor
michael.robertson
Posts: 589
Registered: ‎03-18-2008
Message 15 of 18 (105 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-13-2013 03:56 AM in reply to: Postmaster_G

If you copied a server deployment to a thumb drive that will not work, there are initialization files pointing to resources & license information in the deployment that point back to the server. The only way this would work is if you had a connection to your work network from home like a Virtual Private Network (VPN) connection.

Mike Robertson
FL. Dept. of Transportation
CADD Applications Developer
Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 16 of 18 (96 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-15-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: michael.robertson

Actually, it has worked before.  That is how I got C3D 2013 installed on my old pc.  The same package actually!?!

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 17 of 18 (81 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

05-20-2013 12:35 PM in reply to: Postmaster_G

... I hope I am not going to have to install xP just to run civil 3D!

:catsad:

Valued Contributor
Postmaster_G
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎12-20-2012
Message 18 of 18 (69 Views)

Re: Need Help on Install!!! (yes, I saw the sticky)

06-01-2013 02:09 PM in reply to: michael.robertson

...oh sorry, didn't mention that I am connecting over VPN and I have setup the proper environmental variables to connect to my license server (thus the reason I am able to startup my network version of 2012 - and previously 2013).  As I think I mentioned before, I had installed the same package on my old computer and everything ran fine, from home over vpn.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube