Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
CliveBroadhurst4576
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-30-2010
Message 1 of 6 (257 Views)

Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

257 Views, 5 Replies
04-22-2013 05:31 AM

I haven't been able to install Building Design Suite Premium 2014 on my PC if BitDefender 2013 is present.

 

Does it have to be like this?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,035
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (245 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

04-22-2013 07:38 AM in reply to: CliveBroadhurst4576

It is *always* recommended that anti-virus software be disabled during the installation of Autodesk products. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
CliveBroadhurst4576
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-30-2010
Message 3 of 6 (240 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

04-22-2013 08:02 AM in reply to: CliveBroadhurst4576

The problem is with BitDefender Total Security 2013 - because of it's anti-tamper feature - it can't be disabled ...

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,035
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (237 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

04-22-2013 08:10 AM in reply to: CliveBroadhurst4576

Antivirus programs that prevent you from doing normal work are not good solutions.  You might check if there is an admistrative setting to temporarily disable the protection.  In my professional experience, anti-virus software do not stop viruses anymore.  That is why I no longer run them.  Their lock downs and memory hogging themselves are akin to a virus. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,111
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 5 of 6 (226 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

04-22-2013 11:24 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I wouldn't go quite that far - our system caught something serious last week.  But another system falsely identified some AutoDesk components causing the program to be disabled by the fix.  So any sort of protection scheme shouldn't be used as a blunt tool, otherwise there will be collateral damage.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
CliveBroadhurst4576
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-30-2010
Message 6 of 6 (216 Views)

Re: Building Design Suite Premium 2014 and BitDefender 2013

04-22-2013 01:55 PM in reply to: CliveBroadhurst4576
The Autodesk installation exe just hangs in this instance no error, warning or indication of any sort ....

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube