Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
jberns
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 1 of 47 (4,175 Views)

Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

4175 Views, 46 Replies
09-30-2011 02:14 PM

Our client has installed Product Design Suite 2012 on an XP SP3 system with an Intel chipset for video.

 

Status

 

Sketchbook Designer     Works

AutoCAD Mechanical     Starts, but displays a message "An Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM.  The error report sent to Autodesk may be incomplete." Mechanical appears to work after that message is dismissed.

 

Inventor                          Crashes at startup, crash report sent

Showcase                      Crashes at startup, crash report sent

3ds Max Design            Works

Mudbox                          Crashes, crash report sent.

Fusion                            Works

 

The client has uninstalled, cleaned registry/folders, and reinstalled. The problems persist.

They appear to have an Internet connection. Crash reports are being successfully sent and replies received.

 

Advice to resolve this would be appreciated.

 

 

Best regards,

 

J. Berns

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Certified Instructor
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Contributor
idubail
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-01-2009
Message 2 of 47 (4,128 Views)

Re : Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

10-05-2011 03:41 AM in reply to: jberns

Hello,

 

I Have the same problem :

PDSP 2012, Standalone licence.

Ok for Mechanica...

When I launch Inventor (sp1) :

"Un produit Autodesk n'a pas pu envoyer la valeur nécessaire pour SERIALNUM."

And then I have a CER.

 

Win 7 x64 (FRENCH), PDSU French.

 

Any solution ?

Member
phreaker
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-05-2011
Message 3 of 47 (4,099 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

10-06-2011 04:15 PM in reply to: jberns

I too am having this issue on a xp x64 workstation,

I have sent error reports in, i have tried everything listed on other posts and SP1 have tried re-installations to no avail.

 

from what i can guess it has to do with the inventor authentication and may be a problem with flexnet thou no errors have been logged in the eventlog

New Member
josephk86
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-06-2011
Message 4 of 47 (4,094 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

10-06-2011 04:35 PM in reply to: jberns

I too am having the same issue except on a 64bit Windows7 system.

 

I have tried to uninstall/reinstall, including cleaning up the registry.

 

I have installed with Antivirus and UAC disabled.

 

Any helpwould be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Active Member
Stanski
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 5 of 47 (3,671 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-04-2012 07:52 AM in reply to: josephk86

Same issue here.

 

XP SP3 32 bit. Recent install, but wasn't a complete format. 

 

Installed Autodesk Suite 2012. Every package works flawlessly except Inventor which displays the error shown above.

 

Unusually I did not have C:\Docs...\All Users\ directory on the machine as suggested above.

 

I have tried the suggested fixes from all the other threads on this forum and none work with 5 or so uninstalls and reinstalls today.

 

The suggested overall fix cannot seriously be a complete reinstall of XP? I mean really come on! No other program on my machine has this error (I've never seen this type of unresolvable error before), all the other programs in the same software suite work perfectly, there MUST be a solution rather than losing another working day reinstalling XP, updating, configuring network and installing all the necessary software.

 

I reported one instance of the crash and had a reply from Autodesk within half an hour. I replied with more info and not a peep since. I guess the failure instance isn't high enough to warrant a proper fix, just telling people to completely reinstall their OS which for a several thousand pound software package is utterly ludicrous.

Employee
HelenChen-Autodesk
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Message 6 of 47 (3,656 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-04-2012 06:39 PM in reply to: Stanski

Hello Stanski,

 

I am very sorry for any inconvenience we caused. We are still trying to find the cause of the issue.

 

Could you please send the ProductInformation.pit file from your machine to me?

 

Normally that file is installed under below folder (which is a hidden folder need you enable to show hidden files and folders from Folder Options firstly to find it)

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\AdLM

 

It's intresting that you have no C:\Documents and Settings\All Users folder, if so please serach the ProductInformation.pit file from your machine and send to me.

 

My email address is: HelenDOTChenATAutodeskDOTCom

 

Thank you very much for your patient and support!

 

Regards,

Helen

Active Member
Stanski
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 7 of 47 (3,646 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-05-2012 12:10 AM in reply to: HelenChen-Autodesk

Hi Helen,

 

I have had a reply from Simon who I have forwarded the file you have requsted to.

 

Thanks

Stanski

Employee
HelenChen-Autodesk
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎08-10-2008
Message 8 of 47 (3,643 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-05-2012 12:13 AM in reply to: Stanski

Hello Stanski,

 

OK, I got it. Thank you very much for your feedback.

I will contact Simon offline to get the file to have a check.

 

Regards,

Helen

Active Member
Stanski
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 9 of 47 (3,642 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-05-2012 12:35 AM in reply to: Stanski

Oh brilliant. Now after all the faffing around with it yesterday now none of the other packages work. All I get is "Softlock licence manager" error and nothing works...

Active Member
Stanski
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎01-04-2012
Message 10 of 47 (3,547 Views)

Re: Autodesk product failed to send the required value for SERIALNUM

01-16-2012 05:44 AM in reply to: Stanski

So any solution yet?

 

Silence is hardly convincing or inspiring...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube