Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
rseiple
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎12-14-2009
Message 11 of 70 (864 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

04-11-2013 05:41 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks Travis

 

I should be able to just swap out the old files with the new ones then I believe if it is anything like before. Just leave the LMTools install alone and change the reference in the configuration.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 12 of 70 (862 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

04-11-2013 05:50 AM in reply to: rseiple
Yeah, stop the service. Close and exit LMTOOLS. Replace the 4 .exe
files. Start the service. That easy. Nothing else to muck with.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
Rijal29
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
Message 13 of 70 (732 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

06-26-2013 09:09 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Hello All

 

I have questions. Would you like to help me? If i have borrowed license from server for suite, what happened if the borrowed license expired and did not return the license? 

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 14 of 70 (727 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

06-27-2013 06:51 AM in reply to: Rijal29
The license will expire on the server at its expected time. If your client
got stuck, borrow another then return it.

Borrowing is user and hardware related. So if you login different or
disable a network card or remove from a docking station, this will also
invalidate your borrowed license.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
Rijal29
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-04-2013
Message 15 of 70 (719 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

06-27-2013 07:17 AM in reply to: TravisNave
Thanks for your reply Travis. So if i have 1 lic for 20 user then i borrowed 2 lic, and they did not return the lic until expired, will i have 20 user back?
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 16 of 70 (716 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

06-27-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: Rijal29
Correct. Even if the user never returned the license manually, it would
still return automatically upon the expiration date.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,106
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 17 of 70 (714 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

06-27-2013 08:16 AM in reply to: TravisNave

The network card issue is the most common one encountered by laptop users.  Most laptops will only power up the network card when its connected ie. borrowing the license.  When they go mobile, the card is powered down to save battery life and the license is no longer valid.  I've gone into each of our company laptops and set the network card to "always enabled" so the users (who aren't IT savvy enough) don't have to bother with it.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Active Contributor
jlobo2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 18 of 70 (691 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-01-2013 07:53 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I am kind of new to this process, Can you help me through this process.

1. We are currently on AutoCAD 2012 and Using the Flexera License Manager tool. (License Manager Tool installed with the AutoCAD 2012 Install.)

2. We are now going to AutoCAD 2014 and would like to install the License Manager (from AutoCAD 2014 install) on our License Server and support the existing license and future 2014 Licenses.

So was wonderring,

    1. Where could I find the installation guidelines for the same?

     2. Do we have to uninstall the current LM and then install the LM for 2014?

     3. Is there any documentation for the same where I can refer to?

 

Any help regarding the same would be highlu appreciated.

 

Thanks 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 19 of 70 (685 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-01-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: jlobo2
Just replace the .exe files with the latest ones provided in this post. For
documentation, see my Quickstart guide in my signature.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Contributor
jlobo2
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎06-18-2013
Message 20 of 70 (683 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2014

07-01-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank You for your reply.

 

I had another quick question. We have recieved 2 .lic files this time,

1. ACD2014enlicense.lic and

2, CIVIL2014enlicense.lic

 

So how do I use both of them, since theres only one .lic file we have been using till now?

 

 

Thanks

Joel Lobo

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube