Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 11 of 40 (2,830 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-08-2011 01:27 PM in reply to: MPeterman1

Autodesk no longer provides all 4 executables on the media.  They combine them now into one self-installing .exe file.  I am not a big fan myself.  That's why I provided the link to the Flexera files individually above as well as attaching the appropriate adskflex.exe files to the post.  That's probably going to be your easiest method. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
swalton
Posts: 1,170
Registered: ‎06-19-2006
Message 12 of 40 (2,819 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-09-2011 07:53 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Is the 2012 LM required for running 2012 products? 

 

My reseller said no, so I did not install it, but I can't get my networked 2012 products to pull a licence from the server.

 

Autodesk tech support refused to answer the question and directed me back to my reseller.  Not helpful.




Inventor 2014
Vault Professional 2014
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 13 of 40 (2,817 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-09-2011 07:54 AM in reply to: swalton

its recommeded to use the latest license manager which is 11.9 for 2012 products this has to be upgraded every year

Contributor
MPeterman1
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 14 of 40 (2,810 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-09-2011 08:28 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I actually prefer the one executable for ease of quickly installing.  I find the seperate files confusing and not sure of the proper order of execution! Thanks so much for providing that info if you have it as that will solve my problem partially.It is important to only use the vendor supplied license manager. Do you know the correct order?

Otherwise I now have to download a 32-bit app, decompress and install in order to extract the current License Manager executables at all to transfer to the server.

I wish the Autodesk 2012 License Manager was also provided seperately as a subscription download.

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 15 of 40 (2,799 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-09-2011 01:16 PM in reply to: MPeterman1

The license manager is provided by Flexera and is the same for all 3rd party applications whether you are using Autodesk, Solidworks, VMWare, etc.  It is backwards compatible, so you should always run the latest version even if you have multiple vendors using the NLM.  Typically I recommend running one NLM consisting of the three NLM files, lmgrd.exe, lmutil.exe, and lmtools.exe.  You will also need the vendor file in the same location for all your vendor products like adskflex.exe, sgiawd.exe, etc. 

 

You should create a separate service in LMTOOLS for different vendors, for best results. 

 

In my original post, you can download the latest Autodesk vendor supplied NLM from their website.  Subscription not necessary.  My second link provides the NLM from the software developer, Flexer minus the vendor daemon... which I have provided as an attachment.

 

Upgrading simply involves stopping the NLM and overwriting the .exe files.  It's really that simple.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
areese9779
Posts: 146
Registered: ‎08-25-2004
Message 16 of 40 (2,679 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-23-2011 08:58 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hello,

 

I saw a question earlier in the thread asking how to install the license manager when you can't put a DVD in the server, but I didn't see an answer - or if it was there, I didn't understand it.  Is there a way to install the license manager on a non-local drive?  Our server doesn't have a DVD input...

 

Thanks!

Andy

Andy Reese
C3D 2014, SP1
Dell Precision T3500, Windows 7 64-bit
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 17 of 40 (2,674 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-23-2011 08:59 AM in reply to: areese9779

its on the first page of this thread on where to download the license manager

Contributor
MPeterman1
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-04-2008
Message 18 of 40 (2,664 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-23-2011 11:20 AM in reply to: areese9779

I posted the question looking for the Autodesk NLM.MSI. Discovered that search did not look in non-indexed folders in Windows 7 so got no hits for my file search! DOH. The uncompressed folders are not indexed initially. 

 

You can locate the NLM.msi in this example 64-bit folder:

C:\Autodesk\YourAdskProduct2012_64bit\x64\en-US\Tools\NLM\NLM.MSI

 

The links provided in the first thread post are to the flexlm developer site download and is a v11.9.1 and to obtain the IPv6 Network Manager from Autodesk.

Either way, there are more options this year and you need to make sure what you install is correct for your own network internet protocol IPv6 or IPv4. Here is the link for IPv4 to round out all the network manager sources in this Topic. http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=16273699&linkID=9273944

 

*Pro
Dennis_Jeffrey
Posts: 1,369
Registered: ‎12-15-2003
Message 19 of 40 (2,627 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-24-2011 07:09 PM in reply to: swalton

Actually, I've found that the License server for the 2011 products does not even see a 2012 license. Can someone verify that?

 

Travis, is the approach of copying the 2012 LM files into a 2011 FlexLM folder still valid?  I need to do a hot swap with 20 some systems running. After hours install is not an option for this customer.

 

I have a server at the office where I can alter the host info and test a customer license, however, so far I've been unsucessful with a 2012 license.

 

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
____________________________________________________________
Dennis Jeffrey, Author and Manufacturing Trainer, Autodesk Inventor Certified Expert
Autodesk Manufacturing Implementation Certified Expert
Autodesk Silver Manufacturing Partner

Subscribe to the free digital "The Creative Inventor Magazine" now available at: http://teknigroup....

XP64 SP2, GeForce 9800GT-1GB, Driver: 6.14.12.7061, 8GB Ram, AMD Athlon II 3.2 Ghz
Laptop: Win7-64 Pro, 4GB, ATI Graphics on board, 2012 Ultimate, IV2011 or 2010 Pro, all SP's
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 20 of 40 (2,623 Views)

Re: Autodesk Network License Manager 2012

06-24-2011 09:31 PM in reply to: TravisNave
Copying the four .exe files in a quick overwrite still works. It's still the way I do it. Should only take a few moments and you can do it live. It shouldn't affect your current users but it might with borrowed licenses.

The old NLM will still run and see 2012 lic files, so any issues you are having is likely due to another issue.

If you need some help, just post again here.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube