Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
tewry
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-16-2005
Message 1 of 12 (904 Views)

Autodesk LTU error reference 1

904 Views, 11 Replies
01-28-2013 06:19 AM

I have found a few forum post already on this topic but no help to fixing my problem.  I'm trying export my license of Revit Structure Suite 2013 before I uninstall it.  I'm uninstalling due to the new Autodesk Building Design Suite Premium 2013 my company got isn't installing, because it detects that a few things are already installed.

 

I open the LTU and the serial number I'm trying to export is correct and the utility asks me to sign-in.  After it attempts to connect I get a Export Failure.  It gives me a Error Referenc 1 and gives me the options to Retry, Print, or Finish that's all.  And no how many times I retry I get the same message.  Does anyone have a thought of how to get the LTU to allow me to export my license?

 

 

LTU Error Reference 1.PNG

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 2 of 12 (884 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-28-2013 12:38 PM in reply to: tewry

tewry,

Hello. In this case, honestly, you would be best served just uninstalling, installing, and then just activating the new installation. The export system is being held up somewhere and it will probably be less intensive to just install and reactivate.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 3 of 12 (874 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-28-2013 03:10 PM in reply to: tewry

Hello Thomas,

 

I wanted to point out that in this case the export error you're receiving is actually by design, due to the fact that you're trying to use the LTU on a license (AutoCAD Revit Structure Suite 2013) that was upgraded (Building Design Suite Premium 2013).

I'm guessing that you were trying to export the license to another computer to avoid downtime while you uninstall the old / reinstall the new software? If that's the case, and as this license is upgraded, have you considered installing the Design Suite on another machine while you clean up this one?



Philip Schmelzer
Active Member
tewry
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-16-2005
Message 4 of 12 (847 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-30-2013 11:03 AM in reply to: philip.s

The problem is that I can't install the upgrade to Autodesk Building Design Suite Premium 2013 at all.  It fails everytime I attempt to install it.  The reason I'm trying to export the license to my Revit Structural Suite 2013 is to preserve it, if even after uninstalling the Revit Structural Suite 2013 I can't install the new Design Suite 2013 because of failure to install.

 

At this point my newly purchased subcription based upgrade is just thing I have and can't use. 

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 12 (841 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-30-2013 12:37 PM in reply to: tewry

Any specific failure / error messages during the install? Can you please attach your error log so that we can troubleshoot accordingly.



Philip Schmelzer
Active Member
tewry
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-16-2005
Message 6 of 12 (827 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-31-2013 04:38 AM in reply to: philip.s
Here is a copy of the error report I get while trying to install the new Autodesk Building Design Suite.
Active Member
tewry
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-16-2005
Message 7 of 12 (819 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-31-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: tewry

Sorry about that I replied from the email. It made the post just not attaching the txt file.  But here's the txt file I saved from the error log.

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 8 of 12 (814 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-31-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: tewry

Thanks Thomas!

 

Check out the recommendations in this recent error 1603 thread, specifically:

 

1.  Make sure you don't already have any other vertical flavor of AutoCAD 2013 already installed before installing BDS2013. 

 

2.  Make sure you have local administrator privileges.  Sometimes Office updates switch you to Debugger User, etc.  So verify you are local administrator.  In fact, you might even try logging in as Administrator or running the installer as Administrator.

 

3.  Make sure UAC is disabled completely

 

4.  Make sure anti-virus is off.

 

5.  If you are installing from media (DVD or USB) copy the contents to a folder on your local hard drive and install from there.  If you are installing from network deployment, make sure you have full read/write to the share and folder permissions and do not make it a silent deploy.

 

6.  Do not add the service pack during the install.  If prompted, decline.  Add the service pack afterwards.



Philip Schmelzer
Active Member
tewry
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎06-16-2005
Message 9 of 12 (806 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-31-2013 09:27 AM in reply to: philip.s

Okay I was discussing the latest news on what to do to get my install of the BDSP2013 to work, with my Revit manager.  He brought up a good question, because he has gotten his to install, when will BDSP2014 be coming out?  He hasn't seen any tools that I will need thus far in his install that I can't do without and since I'm the only one having trouble so far, he thinks that it might just be better for me to wait for BDSP2014 and for me to just continue to use the Revit Structural Suite 2013 that still works beautiful for me.

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,427
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 10 of 12 (790 Views)

Re: Autodesk LTU error reference 1

01-31-2013 12:52 PM in reply to: tewry

My apologies Thomas as I ’m unable to comment on upcoming product release dates or the features that may or may not be included in future products or product versions.

 

Perhaps one of the other community members can weigh in on release dates / patterns here?



Philip Schmelzer
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.