Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
mlthiel
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Message 1 of 4 (6,096 Views)

AutoCad 2008 32 bit need 64 bit version

6096 Views, 3 Replies
12-03-2010 12:51 PM

I have windows 7 and need to find an AutoCad 2008 64 bit version.  My current 32 bit version will not run on windows 7.

ACAD 2008 product serial number 655-98989898.  Can anyone provide a link or information as to where I can get a 64 bit version?

Member
DStanton
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-20-2001
Message 2 of 4 (6,091 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2008 32 bit need 64 bit version

12-03-2010 03:51 PM in reply to: mlthiel

There is no AutoCAD 2008 64 bit, nor will there ever be. Google "Windows 7 XP mode" and what you can do is install and run the ACAD 2008 in XP mode.

 

Daniel

Valued Contributor
SrealMcCoy
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎12-10-2003
Message 3 of 4 (5,752 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2008 32 bit need 64 bit version

01-25-2011 03:13 PM in reply to: mlthiel

Patrick

My experience was that Civil Series 2004 and LDT2004 (AKA Autocad 2004 engine) installed fine under my Windows 7 64bit Home edition with NO XP mode and works just great. But, if you try to install Civil 3d 2008 or LDT 2008 under Windows 7 64 bit, you get the 'This is a 32 bit Acad. It cannot be installed on a 64-bit Windows.' What a scam! For more detailed instructions than I have found:

What you have to do to install 2008 is go through the whole rigamarole of paying to upgrade to Windows 7 Professional (or Ultimate) to get Windows XP Mode, then download and intall Windows XP Mode and Windows Virtual PC (And be prepared to experience problems with the downloads from Microsoft...) then install 2008 under a Windows XP Mode session. What a pain, and when all is said and done my LDT2008 runs excruciatingly slow.

OK... Rant On: But then again making life difficult seems par for the course for Adesk... Unless that is you want to buy the lates version of your CAD platform and put it on perpetual subscription. Which then causes a whole host of issues if your clients refuse to upgrade to the latest and greatest. Rant Off... Please return to your previously scheduled troubleshooting. Patrick

*Expert Elite*
Sinc
Posts: 6,207
Registered: ‎11-18-2006
Message 4 of 4 (5,749 Views)

Re: AutoCad 2008 32 bit need 64 bit version

01-25-2011 03:20 PM in reply to: SrealMcCoy

...or you can copy Autocad 2008 to your hard drive.  Then download and install ORCA (free), and use it to edit the .MSI file, removing the lines that prohibit installation on a 64-bit machine.  Also, use Notepad to remove the similar line from the .INI file.

 

There are more-detailed instructions here:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Architecture/Updated-Workaround-instructions-for-64-Bit-OS-Ins...

 

They're for ACA 2008, but Autocad should be pretty similar, except for the name of the MSI file.

Sinc

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube