Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 Error 1603 during install.

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
pmiles2
4896 Views, 10 Replies

AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 Error 1603 during install.

Starting a new thread since the last one was muddled...

Okay, I am a student and need to run the same version of the software that we are using at school.  I have downloaded and successfully installed AutoCAD 2012, AutoCAD 2013, and AutoCAD Mechanical 2012 without having to do anything special.  AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 on the other hand seems to be a special snowflake.

I keep getting a 1603 error during the installation process (phase 2 of 4).  Neither the setup log or the verbose log say anything specifically caused the failure (look for yourself).

What I have tried:

Rebooting.

Deleted files in: C:\Users\pmiles\AppData\Local\Temp and C:\Windows\Temp.

Norton AntiVirus disabled and enabled.

Tried as Administrator, Run As Adminstrator, and User.

Changed security permissions on C:\Program Files\Autodesk folder for SYSTEM, Administrators, Users, TrustedInstaller to full control.  It won't change the settings for CREATOR OWNER.

UAC control has always been off.

Tried using a downloaded version of AutoCAD Mechanical 2013 as Trial, Download Now, and Browser Download versions.

Add/Programs shows the following Autodesk products installed:

AutoCAD 2013 - English

Autodesk Content Service

Autodesk Download Manager

Autodesk Inventor Fusion 2013

Autodesk Material Library 2013

Autodesk Material Library Base Resolution 2013

Autodesk Sync

I do have a later version of the 2010 C++ distributable installed, however unlike in the other threads, my logs say nothing about it being involved where their logs specifically did.