Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
nd.g
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Message 1 of 5 (771 Views)

AutoCAD Failed to Install

771 Views, 4 Replies
10-14-2011 09:37 AM

I'm trying to install AutoCAD 2012 onto my computer (I have Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit) but each time it comes up saying that it failed to install. An error appears about half way through installation and then the number of items installed appears to go down (i.e. whereas it might have said before that 5 out 10 are left to install, it will then say that 6 are left, then 7 etc). I have tried to install the 2011 version, but this also had the same problem. I have copied the installation log below and would appreciate any helpful suggestions.

 

ProductSelectionDialog2
2011/10/14:16:54:23 Nick NICK-PC PageOpen FullProgressDialog
2011/10/14:16:54:23 Nick NICK-PC Installing DirectX Runtime: C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\3rdParty\DirectX\DXSETUP.exe /silent
2011/10/14:16:55:41 Nick NICK-PC Install DirectX Runtime Succeeded
2011/10/14:16:55:41 Nick NICK-PC Installing FaroSDK: ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2011/10/14:16:56:09 Nick NICK-PC Install FaroSDK Succeeded
2011/10/14:16:56:09 Nick NICK-PC Installing Autodesk Material Library 2012: ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2011/10/14:16:57:01 Nick NICK-PC Install Autodesk Material Library 2012 Succeeded
2011/10/14:16:57:01 Nick NICK-PC Installing Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution: ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2011/10/14:16:57:50 Nick NICK-PC Install Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution Succeeded
2011/10/14:16:57:54 Nick NICK-PC Installing AutoCAD® 2012: TRANSFORMS="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\x64\en-us\acad\acad.mst;C:\Users\Nick\AppData\Local\Temp\_AI6FD2.tmp\x64\acad\acad-standalone.mst" MSINEWINSTANCE=1 ADSK_EULA_STATUS=#1 ADSK_SOURCE_ROOT="C:\Autodesk\AutoCAD_2012_English_Win_64bit\" INSTALLDIR="C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2012 - English\" FILESINUSETEXT="" REBOOT=ReallySuppress ADSK_SETUP_EXE=1

2011/10/14:17:05:25 Nick NICK-PC Install AutoCAD® 2012 Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603
2011/10/14:17:06:24 Nick NICK-PC Rollback Autodesk Material Library 2012 - Low Resolution Succeeded
2011/10/14:17:08:06 Nick NICK-PC Rollback Autodesk Material Library 2012 Succeeded
2011/10/14:17:08:12 Nick NICK-PC Rollback FaroSDK Succeeded
2011/10/14:17:08:12 Nick NICK-PC Rollback DirectX Runtime Failed Failure is ignored, Result=1619

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (765 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Failed to Install

10-14-2011 10:02 AM in reply to: nd.g

What is the error that you get half-way thru the installation?  Also, there should be a larger installation log file located in your %TEMP% folder. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
nd.g
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Message 3 of 5 (753 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Failed to Install

10-14-2011 01:55 PM in reply to: TravisNave

It says Internal Error 2738

 

I've found a folder called TEMP, I'm can't find anything that might be the installation log though

 

Sorry for posting twice, i wasn't sure which was the right forum

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 5 (748 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Failed to Install

10-14-2011 02:49 PM in reply to: nd.g

No problem.  Usually the discussion_admin will move it to the right forum. 

 

To get to your %TEMP% folder, just go to Start > Run and type %TEMP% or just type %TEMP% in the address bar of your Windows Explorer. 

 

David Lau wanted you to try this:

 

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/09/autocad-2012-mainenginethread-is-returning-1603-....

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
nd.g
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎10-14-2011
Message 5 of 5 (738 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Failed to Install

10-14-2011 06:28 PM in reply to: nd.g

Hi,

 

I tried that link and installed the recommended hotfix, but I'm still getting Internal Error 2738 and the same problems as before.

Also, I can't find a %TEMP% file anywhere. The closest I have is called TEMP but that doesn't look like it has anything from today in. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube