Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 1 of 14 (394 Views)
Accepted Solution

AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

394 Views, 13 Replies
04-30-2013 07:55 AM

Hello, I am an IT specialist for a local company, however my knowledge of Autodesk products is limited and most of what is currently set up was inplace before I arrived in the picture.

 

We have an AutoDesk licensing server (single) that has been serving AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012 licenses without issue.  We recently purchased some Civil 3D 2013 licenses and when I added them to the .lic file on the server all of the 2012 licenses stopped working.

 

Note, there are reservations involved in this setup (which theoretically are reservering the 2013 licenses for a group of users).

 

What is the proper way to add 2013 licenses without breaking the 2012 licenses?

 

Any and all help is much appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Adam

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,832
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 14 (382 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:11 AM in reply to: adam.lepp
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 3 of 14 (374 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:36 AM in reply to: DarrenP
Thank you for this link. I thought I was combining the files correctly, but now see this:

To properly combine identical products, all license files for that product must be created on the same date.

Am I able to recreate the older 2012 licenses file so that is created on the same date as the 2013?
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,832
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 4 of 14 (372 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:37 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

are these licenses on subscription?

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 5 of 14 (370 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:41 AM in reply to: DarrenP
What does that mean or how can I find out? I was handed serial numbers and a product key, but was not involved in the purchasing of anything.

I do feel like I saw that term used somewhere though.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,832
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 6 of 14 (364 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

you need to find out all of this first before doing anything else

i suggest you talk to whoever handles purchasing in your company and find out who they brought the licenses from

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 7 of 14 (363 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:43 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

I believe that they are as my license files have the PACKAGE portion included.

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,832
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 14 (360 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:44 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

both versions or just one?

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-30-2013
Message 9 of 14 (357 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:45 AM in reply to: DarrenP
Both.
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 6,832
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 10 of 14 (355 Views)

Re: AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 and 2012 on licensing server

04-30-2013 08:47 AM in reply to: adam.lepp

if thats the case the 2013 license will be replacing the 2012 license

so you don't need to do the 2012 license file again just do the 2013 license file and the 2012 licenses will be included

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube