Installation & Licensing

Installation & Licensing

Reply
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 11 of 29 (5,820 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-12-2012 06:43 AM in reply to: kmfinchpdx

kmfinchpdx,

 

Hello. If it is working for some people and not others, then clearly there is a block of some type on the system. For cases like this I would simply go with the basics. Turn off Antivirus, turn off UAC, log in as admin and test. Then start turning off competing products running in your services. Also check the NET version, is it newer than the NET that was released with the 2012 products? 2013 shipped with NET 4.0, if you are on 4.5 it was not tested. Can you roll back to 4.0? This is not to say 4.5 is incompatible, but when dealing with a new system, there are many areas that will receive constant updates, all of which came after the product was released.

 

I am guessing there is an Event Viewer in Win 8, so I would take a look there to see if there are any listed conflicts. If others have this working, there is something different with your machine. Have you looked at the Windows 8 forums on the Microsoft site? I would definitely go there if I had a problem like this.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

 

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Contributor
kmfinchpdx
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 12 of 29 (5,812 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-12-2012 09:03 AM in reply to: dembkod

Thanks for the posting. I haven't tried downloading AutoCAD 2013 since I purchased the new computer last week since I've been uncertain about compatibility with Windows 8. My old computer has Windows XP so it's quite a jump.

 

I was wondering what UAC stands for? How do I check the NET version in Windows?

 

I'm not certain what the event viewer is but I think I've run across it trying to learn more about Windows 8. I'll try looking through the Windows 8 forums on the Microsoft site as you suggested.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,210
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 13 of 29 (5,802 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-12-2012 03:41 PM in reply to: kmfinchpdx

UAC = User Access Control.  Basically, prevents certain changes to the system by programs.  At the most agressive level it won't allow any changes, at the default level it will prevent some and warn the user before most which can actually *prevent* some automated changes.  Most power users turn UAC off completely so it doesn't get in the way.

 

The differences in who can run/not run can easily be explained by the variations in hardware, drivers, expertise in problem solving (Spock-like vs. modern dance flailing), and what constitutes "running properly".  Its the same reason why companies like AutoDesk can't produce a product that runs *completely* error free on all systems - there's too much variation at our end.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


Contributor
kmfinchpdx
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 14 of 29 (5,797 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-12-2012 05:06 PM in reply to: dgorsman

Thanks. Not really expecting completely error free. AutoCAD hasn't been without bugs since I started with R14. Just looking to learn the new software (both AutoCAD 2013 and Revit). Hopefully to get back into the field since it's what my degree is in.

 

I don't know how much of a difference in programming it will take to produce a compatible version on Windows 8 since this version of Windows seems so much of a jump from the other versions. Not like going from say, Windows ME to Windows XP.

 

Not sure if I dare yet download the educational versions from the Autodesk site or not on the new computer. My old computer was much too slow to even attempt Revit.

Active Member
rgraffe
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-03-2012
Message 15 of 29 (5,687 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-17-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: dembkod

I have autocad civil 3d and windows 8 - I loaded it in windows 8 and it worked for 2d but not anything 3d.  So I loaded the program in windows 7 running in hyper-v on the windows 8 machine and it works fine.  Hyper-v comes with windows 8 and can be loaded from programs and features (turn windows features on or off).  Hopefully Autodesk will come out with a patch so it will work directly in windows 8.

New Member
StevenLow
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 16 of 29 (5,505 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-23-2012 10:37 AM in reply to: kmfinchpdx

I have windows 8, and whenever I attempt to install autocad 2013, it always stops installing when it gets to 4 of # remaining. Can someone help?

New Member
AaronVaughan_Millersburg
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-25-2012
Message 17 of 29 (5,444 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-25-2012 10:29 AM in reply to: StevenLow

I was able to successfully install AutoCAD 2013 on Windows 8. I am only able to tell you what system that I have. Lenovo M Series Think Center. However, I did not have much luck with Inventor. I think that I used the down load manager with AutoCAD 2013. With Inventor 2012 I was only given the browser option. I think that it down loaded all of the program files, but it failed to install. Why did I choose Inventor 2012. My instructor told me that there are some issues with 2013 Inventor. Right or wrong, I followed her lead.

 

Back to AutoCAD 2013. I understand that a lot of install success has to do with the .net framework on the computer. Maybe a comparison of the 2 systems will give you an idea.

 

Another area is that I read in another blog that after an unsucessfull install, the person down loaded the product again. A reply to their thread was: "Why did you download it again?" The reply was from a CAD manager at a facility, perhaps someone can give some insight as to what acutally occurs with the download and then install process.

Contributor
kmfinchpdx
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 18 of 29 (5,436 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

12-25-2012 02:00 PM in reply to: AaronVaughan_Millersburg

Anyplace online that explains more about the .net framework when downloading and installing AutoCAD 2013 on Windows 8? It's not something I understand. I'm still puzzled, trying to figure out what about Windows 8 makes it work for some people but not for others.

Active Contributor
rreid
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎11-30-2005
Message 19 of 29 (4,668 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

01-17-2013 06:53 AM in reply to: dembkod

We have deployed ACAD 2013 on windows 8 x64 and have mixed results.  Here is some info that may help:

In windows 8, you can no longer disable UAC entirely.  It is possible via a registry edit, but then the Windows Store will no longer work.  The most you can do is turn the slide for notifications all the way down.  But UAC is still enabled and still automatically elevates your priveleges if the program calls for it correctly even though it is not notifying you of it. If the program does not call UAC for admin priveleges then the program will fail to run correctly.

 

To run Autocad correctly (or to install it correctly) you need to mark the executable with 'Run as Administrator'.  Then Autocad will call for UAC elevation correctly.  You do this by navigating to the acad.exe file, right click and select 'Properties', go to the 'Compatibility' tab and click the box under 'Privilege Level'.  This setting will stick. 

 

Autodesk Sync creates a hidden drive mapping (using subst) that is for the local sync store.  If you have other drive maps that conflict with this, then it will break autodesk sync.  By default, the installer attempts to create the map to X:, if X is in use then it moves it to Y:.  You wont see this mapping unless you do a registry edit to show all hidden drives.  See reference here: http://www.pctools.com/guides/registry/detail/148/

 

Win 8 is still using the Win 7 kernel.  So there is no obvious reason why Acad would not run on it.  But the security has been tightened up and Autocad tends to want read/write access to secure store locations (basically any folder outside of a user's storage folder on the hard disk).  So Autocad HAS to elevate if you want it to run corrrectly.  There are other programs out there that have similar issues.

 

If you are not a local admin on the computer, then i am not sure if you can get Autocad to run reliably.  Perhaps an Autocad Support MVP will be able to weigh in on this.

Contributor
kmfinchpdx
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 20 of 29 (4,653 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2013, Windows 8

01-17-2013 09:37 AM in reply to: rreid

A few questions: what is "UAC"? Since I'd be running it at home with just one computer I assume that makes me the "administrator" in Windows 8? How do I know if I have other drive maps that could conflict with the local sync store? Would my files at home be considered "secure" locations by AutoCAD since I'm guessing I'd be the administrator?

 

Thanks.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.