Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 1 of 26 (5,484 Views)

AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

5484 Views, 25 Replies
06-15-2011 01:21 PM

Posted this elsewhere and it was suggested I move to this forum.

 

A user posted this:

"AutoCAD 2012 freezes on startup at the point it says checking license at the bottom left hand corner.

If I Control Alt Delete and close down AutoCAD and restart the application it comes up fast and right away.

 

It has been happening frequently on a few machines now. Any suggestions on a fix?"

 

and I added:

I am having the same issue except when I kill the application and restart it, I still can't obtain a license.  This is happening not only in AutoCAD 2012, but also AutoCAD 2011 which makes me think it is possibly an issue with the license server software.  I have submitted a case on this, but on the off chance someone in support is monitoring the forum and would like to help out.

 

We have done quite a bit of testing and so far think it may be related to an environment variable we had set to look for license servers (one of which no longer existed).  There wasn't an issue prior to installing the new NLM software and it only seemed to affect AutoCAD, not Revit. Still testing to see if getting rid of the variable has resolved the issue completely.

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 2 of 26 (5,462 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 08:31 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

if you have specified any dead servers in any of the license server locations and if you have FLEXLM_TIMEOUT variable specified, you might see similar behaviour.

 

Please delete cascadeinfo.cas before doing more tests

 

Also please try to create client diagnostics log to check the client behaviour.

 

 

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 3 of 26 (5,457 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 09:54 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Hashim,

 

Are you saying it is a dead server and timeout together causing the problem?  The variable with the dead server had been in use for awhile, but more recently we did add the timeout variable.

 

Thanks for your input.

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 4 of 26 (5,450 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 11:19 AM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Yes, it tries to connect the dead server for the time specified in the timeout, before trying to connect to the good server,

 

if you clean up the variables as mentioned earlier, it should be fixed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 5 of 26 (5,444 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 12:02 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

I added the diagnostic variable and deleted the cascadeinfo.cas file.  When I open AutoCAD 2012 I get the attached error message.


On a related note, do you know of an Autodesk white paper describing all the variables related to FlexLM and supported by the Autodesk products?

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 6 of 26 (5,440 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 12:48 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Assuming licpath.lic is pointing to the correct server.

 

this error is shown for every feature code it's checking on the server, if you continue further, at some point it should take the available license on the server(if any). if not you should see the DENIED error in the server log.

 

if you are referring to client variables , I don't know of any specific document listing all the variables, 

 

If you are referring to the option file variables, then it is documented here

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS1055247

 

TIMEOUT and Borrow are related to some product implementations so it might not work on all Autodesk products.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 7 of 26 (5,432 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 02:44 PM in reply to: hashim.mundol

I checked the c:\program files\autodesk\autocad 2012 - English\licpath.lic and it is pointing to the correct server.  The error message I showed comes up three times....then churns for a while...comes up two more times, then Autocad 2012 gets a license.

 

We have also noticed it opens hundreds connections to the license server by watching our Riverbed appliance which was throwing errors that we are exceeding the allowed connection limits.

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 8 of 26 (5,421 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-16-2011 11:57 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

This is the cascading behaviour of the Autodesk licenses as descrbed here

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS16981643

 

Autocad 2012 will look for the cheapest available license first and then continue till the next available one.

 

Without diagnostics variable this is transparent to user.

 

Network connections

 

For every successfull connection you shoud see one connection attempt to following ports

 

27000-2009  and 2080. ->If there are re-connect attempts the number could be more than 11, when tested on LAN, if you are on WAN it could be higher.

 

for every cascading order this number could be repeated (not exact multiples, some ports might not be re-scanned)

 

You can check this behaviour on a client using wireshark or procmon.

 

you can avoid the port scanning by mentioning the lmgrd port in the client. you can do this by specifying ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE in the system environment variable

 

name:ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE

value:27000@servername  (27000 is default lmgrd port, replace the servername with yours)

 

Hope this helps; if not you will have to configure Riverbed to allow more connections.

 

 

 

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Active Contributor
nelsonweeks
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎08-20-2008
Message 9 of 26 (5,374 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-22-2011 01:49 PM in reply to: hashim.mundol

I have added the ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE with the value specified (set to 27000@"ourservername", and it still isn't working.  That is, AutoCAD does come up eventually (maybe a minute and a half), but it seems to be looking on the ports you list 27000 - 27009 multiple times.

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 10 of 26 (5,370 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2012 hanging at checking license.

06-22-2011 02:06 PM in reply to: nelsonweeks

Multiple connection attempt to the same server ?

 

is it possible to skip riverbed to connect to the server, just to isolate any packet drops/retries.

 

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube