Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Mentor
jweiss
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 1 of 4 (258 Views)

AutoCAD 2002 toolbars disappear intermittently at start-up

258 Views, 3 Replies
06-19-2003 04:52 AM
I was asked to post this in the network group by the Autodesk forum moderator of the AutoCAd 2002 group. We have recently upgraded from stand alone AutoCAD 2000i to the Inventor Series that includes AutoCAD 2002. We have some people who create a user profile (*.arg file) and some who use the standard vanilla.arg and they just move the toolbars where they want it. The switch is correct in the shortcut. We have some users who never lost their toolbars. We have the rest of us who lose our toolbars about once every two weeks. To get them back, we go to profiles, delete the custom profile or vanilla profile and re-import them. Someone suggested removing the switch in the shortcut and we tried that. It seemed to work for a couple of weeks and then it would happen again. Is this a possible bug? Any ideas how to get this to stop. We never had this problem before.
John C Weiss Jr.
CAD Administrator
Follett Corporation
Distinguished Contributor
patrick_aps
Posts: 924
Registered: ‎10-27-2003
Message 2 of 4 (258 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2002 toolbars disappear intermittently at start-up

06-19-2003 08:51 PM in reply to: jweiss
Toolbars get lost when people drag them out of the desktop area...
Be glad thet profiles exist, so that you are able to restore them.
The only way to block the users from moving the toolbars is to do an import of a *.reg file when they log on.
An ARG file is just another extension for the same file: open it with Notepad and you'll see...
Valued Mentor
jweiss
Posts: 391
Registered: ‎12-11-2003
Message 3 of 4 (258 Views)

Re:

06-20-2003 12:29 AM in reply to: jweiss
This is not a case of users dragging them away. We use user profile (*.arg) files to define our AutoCAD screen with regards to toolbar locations. We also have the *.arg file mapped in the AutoCAD shortcut. We can be working fine for weeks. Then all of the sudden we open the application and ALL toolbars are missing. We just have the pull-down menus at the top of the screen. We have to delete our profile and re-import it and set it current for it to restore our toolbars. The moderator from the AutoCAD 2002 group suggested that this may be a network license problem and suggested that I post to this group.
John C Weiss Jr.
CAD Administrator
Follett Corporation
*pkirill
Message 4 of 4 (258 Views)

Re:

07-10-2003 10:58 PM in reply to: jweiss
Don't know if this is your problem, but here's
ours:  Occasionally, our login batch script that maps network drives by
user fails - thus no G:, H:, R:, (whatever), etc.  The user doesn't
know this and starts up AutoCAD.  Since the drive paths listed in
the AutoCAD path are gone, the menus don't load - thus no
toolbars.  The only way to get them back is to do what you mentioned -
delete the profile and re-import and set current. We haven't found a work around
or a fix...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube