Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
SSi_Solutions
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 1 of 7 (85 Views)

AutoCAD 2000i, Win2K Client, NT4 Server and slow network performance

85 Views, 6 Replies
05-30-2003 02:12 AM
Upgraded to Win2k Pro SP3 on WS installed Acad 2000i SP2 with the RTS update & Cado 2000i, connecting to NT4 SP6a PDC domain server. Have got some shared files on the network, templates, plot styles etc. Opening dwg files seems ok and file browsing is ok when it comes to saving a file (via Acad & explorer) it just sits there and hesitates for an indefinite period and then eventually carries on. All 5 WS have the same problem I've one WS left on Win98 which is fine. File copying from windows explorer is also affected but not until acad has been loaded then it will sit and hesitate but is fine beforehand. Copying files from the WS to the server seems ok. Weird thing is, is that there are no failures or errors as such, event viewer etc on WS & server. WS seem to talk to each other fine. Stumped to say the least! Any ideas? Many thanks Mark
*milana, jerry
Message 2 of 7 (85 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2000i, Win2K Client, NT4 Server and slow network performance

05-30-2003 02:42 AM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
Mark,

 

Just to clarify, does the delay occur if trying to
save locally?  How about when saving between workstations?

Also, exactly when does the pause occur (when you
hit the save button, when you try to select a resource on the server,
etc)?


--
Jerry Milana,
Autodesk Professional
Services


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Upgraded
to Win2k Pro SP3 on WS installed Acad 2000i SP2 with the RTS update & Cado
2000i, connecting to NT4 SP6a PDC domain server. Have got some shared files on
the network, templates, plot styles etc. Opening dwg files seems ok and file
browsing is ok when it comes to saving a file (via Acad & explorer) it
just sits there and hesitates for an indefinite period and then eventually
carries on. All 5 WS have the same problem I've one WS left on Win98 which is
fine. File copying from windows explorer is also affected but not until acad
has been loaded then it will sit and hesitate but is fine beforehand. Copying
files from the WS to the server seems ok. Weird thing is, is that there are no
failures or errors as such, event viewer etc on WS & server. WS seem to
talk to each other fine. Stumped to say the least! Any ideas? Many thanks
Mark
Active Member
SSi_Solutions
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 3 of 7 (85 Views)

Re:

05-30-2003 02:56 AM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
Hi Jerry
We dont have any problems working locally or if we work on drawings on another Win2K client. We can copy files back & forth between the clients ok via Acad/ explorer.

The pause is predominantly noticeable when doing a save as doesn't seem to matter whether we select save or cancel, also the pause can occur whilst working, there doesn't seem to be any consistency in the use of commands.

Thanks
Mark
*milana, jerry
Message 4 of 7 (85 Views)

Re:

05-30-2003 03:28 AM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
Mark,

 

If you have virus checking on your server (I assume
you would) try turning it off for a brief time and see if the problem goes
away.  If it does, consider configuring your virus checker not to do real
time scanning of AutoCAD file types.  Being a PDC as well as a file server,
your server may be just too busy.  Adjusting priority between server
functions and applications may help but could break something else on a busy
server.  If none of this helps, you may want to use a utility that monitors
and logs file access activity so that you can see what is happening at the
moment these pauses occur.


--
Jerry Milana,
Autodesk Professional
Services


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Hi
Jerry
We dont have any problems working locally or if we work on drawings
on another Win2K client. We can copy files back & forth between the
clients ok via Acad/ explorer.

The pause is predominantly noticeable when doing a save as doesn't seem to
matter whether we select save or cancel, also the pause can occur whilst
working, there doesn't seem to be any consistency in the use of commands.

Thanks
Mark

Active Member
SSi_Solutions
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 5 of 7 (85 Views)

Re:

06-01-2003 04:35 AM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
Jerry
We have disabled the virus checker to no avail. The NT4 server shouldn't really be under any sort of load as it is only looking after 6 cad stations and an Oce TDS 400 plot server(Also based on NT4 server.). The odd thing to me is that everything seems to behave accordingly up until AutoCAD is loaded.

I am going to do a network trace to see if that reveals anything, the problem there is knowing what to look for!
Thanks
Mark
*milana, jerry
Message 6 of 7 (85 Views)

Re:

06-01-2003 10:23 AM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
What I would look for is failed requests for
resources.  You may have something set to search a non-existent path or
file.  If that is the case once you know what is failing you will have an
idea where to look to fix it.  Good luck.


--
Jerry Milana,
Autodesk Professional
Services


style="PADDING-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
Jerry

We have disabled the virus checker to no avail. The NT4 server shouldn't
really be under any sort of load as it is only looking after 6 cad stations
and an Oce TDS 400 plot server(Also based on NT4 server.). The odd thing to me
is that everything seems to behave accordingly up until AutoCAD is loaded.

I am going to do a network trace to see if that reveals anything, the
problem there is knowing what to look for!
Thanks

Mark

Active Member
SSi_Solutions
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2003
Message 7 of 7 (85 Views)

Re:

06-16-2003 06:50 PM in reply to: SSi_Solutions
I think that I have found a solution in regard to the slow performance issue mentioned above which will hopefully work for others too.

In our scenario, the problem stems from opportunistic file locking, the following entry to the registry on our Win2K cad stations rectified the problem with immediate effect.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\MRXSmb\Parameters\OplocksDisabled

REG_DWORD 0 or 1
The default is 0 (not disabled).

Hope this helps.
Best regards
Mark

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube