Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Mentor
mdhutchinson
Posts: 2,288
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 1 of 4 (332 Views)
Accepted Solution

Assign Static Mac Address generate a new LIC file in advance.

332 Views, 3 Replies
07-27-2013 07:14 AM

We are moving several servers to new increased storage capacity.

 

The Autodesk Licenses server is one that will move. The server name is not changing, but the MAC Address (Physical Address) will change.

The default method to get the new MAC Address on the new server is via IPCONFIG /all... then we need to generate a new lic file with the computer name and this new MAC Address.

 

HOWEVER, IT has told me that they can preselect, or pre-assign a Static MAC address in advance and generate the lic file using this address ahead of time and simply install the new license file when the time comes.

 

Has anyone had experience with this  procedure?

Product Support
emily.xu
Posts: 460
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
Message 2 of 4 (312 Views)

Re: Assign Static Mac Address generate a new LIC file in advance.

07-29-2013 02:58 AM in reply to: mdhutchinson

Do you mean how to change the MAC address? If this article answers your question?

 


______________________________________________________________

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button. This helps everyone find answers more quickly!






Emily Xu
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 4 (301 Views)

Re: Assign Static Mac Address generate a new LIC file in advance.

07-29-2013 12:15 PM in reply to: mdhutchinson

If you are virtualizing, definitely static the MAC and you should be fine.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Mentor
mdhutchinson
Posts: 2,288
Registered: ‎11-18-2003
Message 4 of 4 (297 Views)

Re: Assign Static Mac Address generate a new LIC file in advance.

07-29-2013 01:17 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Yes, in this case I suppose we are.

We use VMWare heavily in our IT Server pool.

The Virtual Server that held the LMTools License Manager was one that moved.  And yes... the move happened this past weekend.

On Saturday, using a pre-selected Mac Address and I generated a new license file at...  https://registeronce.autodesk.com/prodreg/collectFlexParams.action

The server went online on the new hardware Sunday morning early. We plugged in the newly generated license file and all went just fine.

 

 

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube