Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 1 of 6 (659 Views)

Another licensing issue

659 Views, 5 Replies
05-12-2010 06:43 PM
Hi there,

Ill keep it brief.

The Situation:
Network license run on linux server
Maya 2010 client side Windows XP
Starting up Maya 2010 error received when trying to find network license:

A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager
Error [-15.570.10035]

Then a further screen pops up with:
A license related problem has occurred.
[-12]

Verified the license manager is running.
No other errors received from any other machines, just this one.

I am very new to this company and very new to the AutoDesk Maya environment. Considering there was absolutely no documentation around when I came on board I think I'm doing very well, setting aside this issue.

All help greatly appreciated.

V
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (657 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 07:49 AM in reply to: VampX
-12 Invalid returned data from license server system.
Did you follow the Autodesk directions on setting up the NLM on a Linux server?
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 3 of 6 (657 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 04:37 PM in reply to: VampX
Unfortunately I wasn't the one who set it up. I shall have a look at it again though. Anything I need to be aware of? Funny that only one client is receiving the error whereas the others aren't. Network license is for 10.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 4 of 6 (658 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 06:24 PM in reply to: VampX
hi travis, what if i bought an autocad software in singapore and it was not used, can i legally use it in my office in the Philippines?
Valued Contributor
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎01-06-2010
Message 5 of 6 (658 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 10:04 PM in reply to: VampX
ping the server from client machine.check it is pinging?and when u run the autocad on client machine when it asked the server name enter the ip address not the server name and then try.
Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-12-2010
Message 6 of 6 (658 Views)

Re: Another licensing issue

05-13-2010 10:07 PM in reply to: VampX
Ok,

I've resolved this issue. Turns out the server daemon was actually listening on port 7112 and *not* 7111 - as the client is configured to send requests on.
Once I changed that it all loaded and didn't complain once. However, I am still in the dark as to how the others with exactly the same .dat file can be obtaining licenses.
Hmm.

I should have stated it was a multi license server machine too.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube