Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
wundrlik
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 1 of 4 (327 Views)

Alias Design 2012 problem - launching after installation

327 Views, 3 Replies
11-02-2011 05:54 AM

I installed Alias Design 2012 this AM, applied the SP1, rebooted, and attempted to launch the app.  I get no splash screen, and it's running in the background (via task manager).  Alias.exe and SysInfoCheck.exe are running but the program is not coming up.  They are using 90% of core 0, but nothing happens even if I wait for 10-20 minutes.  I found th Exception Log files, but they are completely empty of any details.

 

I'm in a ThinkPad W520

Windows 7 x64 Enterprise

2.70 Ghz i7 processor

8 GB Ram

500 GB HDD

Intel HD/nVidia Quadro 1000M Graphics

I already have the Design Suite 2012 Premium installed, and Navisworks Manage 2012

 

Any thoughts would be appreciated

 

Ryan A Wunderlich
Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,350
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 4 (302 Views)

Re: Alias Design 2012 problem - launching after installation

11-02-2011 08:08 PM in reply to: wundrlik
I am going to check with Alias team but it appears that you video card may be not tested with Alias.

http://download.autodesk.com/us/aliasstudio/qualcharts/alias2012-win.htm


David Lau
Active Contributor
wundrlik
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 3 of 4 (286 Views)

Re: Alias Design 2012 problem - launching after installation

11-07-2011 05:30 AM in reply to: david.lau

I know the card's not tested (so the performace will be less than ideal), but it should still lauch and allow me to work in it.  That's where my problem is, it will not lauch/run and allow me to manipulate the .wire file.

Ryan A Wunderlich
Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,350
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 4 (269 Views)

Re: Alias Design 2012 problem - launching after installation

11-09-2011 01:03 PM in reply to: wundrlik
Thanks for being patient.  I just got this from an Alias Product Specialist:
  • Did it launch before installing the SP1?
  • Check driver version, you may need to update it
  • Have him delete prefs located C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\Alias\UserPrefs2012

Are you acquiring your license using Network over a VPN?



David Lau

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube