Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 1 of 11 (922 Views)

Activating Raster Design

922 Views, 10 Replies
07-16-2010 09:01 AM

I have installed Raster Design but when I try to activate it, it tells me the product key is not a valid one. Any ideas why it says this?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 11 (920 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:03 AM in reply to: Castor63

Probably because you put in an invalid product key.  What is your release of Raster and what product key are you trying to enter?

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 3 of 11 (918 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:06 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I have checked and made sure the product key ir correct. I had to enter the right key to download it to begin with. I have made sure the key is right and the serial number aswell. You helped me with amajor issue once allready Travis! Dont fail me now! :smileywink:

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 11 (914 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:14 AM in reply to: Castor63

Again, which version release of Raster are you installing and what product key are you trying to use.  I am sure your serial number is correct, please do not post it here.  Also, is your license network or stand-alone?

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 5 of 11 (908 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:22 AM in reply to: TravisNave

I just noticed that when I downloaded Raster, the icons it put on my desktop are for Raster MEP 2010, P&ID 2010, Mechanical 2010 and AutoCad 2010. The one I tried to activate was Raster Design MEP 2010 and my trial for it had expired. I do have MEP 2011 installed though. Its a stand alone version

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 11 (904 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:27 AM in reply to: Castor63

You might try using the product code for MEP then for this situation.  Your product code needs to match the suite that your product was installed from.  Product codes are not unique per individual, only per product. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 7 of 11 (902 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:29 AM in reply to: TravisNave

So your saying enter the product key for the MEP 2010 that I have that has expired or the product key for the 2011 MEP that is valid? and do I need to enter the serial number for raster or MEP? When I downloaded Raster I was given serial number and pruduct key, do the not have to match when I try to activate?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 11 (894 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:46 AM in reply to: Castor63

Your serial and product key for one release year will not work for the next.  Generally speaking, the product keys for 2010 are almost the same as 2011 for most products, just that the letter B is incremented to a letter C.  My guess is that you are trying to use a product key for 2011 in a 2010 product or vice versa. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 9 of 11 (893 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:47 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Ok Travis, what I am finding is Raster Design only works with active versions of 2010 products. Raster Design for P&ID works because I still have active 2010 version of P&ID, same with my 2010 Mechanical and AutoCad 2010. So what I get from this is, Raster Design only works with 2010 products not 2011

Contributor
Castor63
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎11-26-2009
Message 10 of 11 (890 Views)

Re: Activating Raster Design

07-16-2010 09:54 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Also have another problem if you dont mind helping. I download Structural but it tells me it cant be installed on my current operating system, why would that be? I tried a few times but keep getting the same error. Generally I havent had that kind of issue with any of the products but Structural

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube