Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
rdsucher
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-10-2001
Message 1 of 5 (94 Views)

ADML and Netware 5.1

94 Views, 4 Replies
03-27-2001 05:18 AM
Our office is Windows NT workstations
on a pure TCP/IP (no IPX) ethernet, with
one server running Netware 5.1.

How do I set up our network licenses to
so that the server is the license manager?
There are only instructions for an IPX network, and
the TCP install wants to put ADLM on the local
workstation, not on the server. The workstation
won't be powered up all the time...just the server.

-RDS
*martin, jason
Message 2 of 5 (94 Views)

Re: ADML and Netware 5.1

03-27-2001 05:24 AM in reply to: rdsucher
RDS -
The short answer is that's not supported.

My recommendation is that you dig up an old machine (any thing that says pentium on it
will work) and install NT Workstations (SP whatever > 3) and use that machine as the adlm
server. Don't install anything else on this machine, just the adlm and don't allow anyone
to touch it. Our has gone down unexpectedly once in the past 2 years. It's a P150 with
32MB ram, 540MB hard drive running NT4. (I think those specs are correct, I don't ever
touch it so I'm not sure). Make sure that the machine you use has only one network card
and no modem. The only (supported) way to use the adlm on a netware server is to use IPX
and only IPX (no tcp/ip on the server).

If you have any other troubles just let us know.

hth

jason martin
frankfurt-short-bruza

"rdsucher" wrote in message news:f03a31d.-1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
Our office is Windows NT workstations
on a pure TCP/IP (no IPX) ethernet, with
one server running Netware 5.1.
How do I set up our network licenses to
so that the server is the license manager?
There are only instructions for an IPX network, and
the TCP install wants to put ADLM on the local
workstation, not on the server. The workstation
won't be powered up all the time...just the server.
-RDS
Active Member
rdsucher
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-10-2001
Message 3 of 5 (94 Views)

Re:

03-27-2001 06:01 AM in reply to: rdsucher
Is it me, or does it seem pretty dumb
not to support the current version
of a major operating system? Just a thought.

Thanks for your help. I know we're
not going back to Netware 4.x so I guess
we're stuck finding an old machine
to run ADLM on.
*Gilmer, Tom
Message 4 of 5 (94 Views)

Re:

03-27-2001 10:19 PM in reply to: rdsucher
May I ask why you run IP rather than IPX?

- Tom

"rdsucher" wrote in message
news:f03a31d.1@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Is it me, or does it seem pretty dumb
> not to support the current version
> of a major operating system? Just a thought.
> Thanks for your help. I know we're
> not going back to Netware 4.x so I guess
> we're stuck finding an old machine
> to run ADLM on.
>
>
Active Member
rdsucher
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-10-2001
Message 5 of 5 (94 Views)

Re:

03-28-2001 04:13 AM in reply to: rdsucher
That is the standard as decided by the national
IT support team. According to the powers that be,
IP-based Netware is "the new standard" and
the future of our network. There is some simplification
in running only one network protocol, and 5.1 was
apparently designed to phase out the IPX protocol anyway.

-RDS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube