Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 1 of 14 (18,525 Views)
Accepted Solution

A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0]

18525 Views, 13 Replies
07-02-2010 06:47 AM

Hi there,

 

I am recieving the following error when opening Inventor 2011: 

 

-----

Licensing Error

 

A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager.

 

If you are still unable to access a license, contact your systems adminisitation.

 

Error [0.0.0]

-----

 

Below is the Log for ADLM when the application loads (C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\AdLM\INVPRO2011ENUAdLM.log)

-----

4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 Reason=Fatal error
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 ComputerName=VBCWXPSEQ03
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 OS=5.1.2600.Service Pack 3
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 File=AdlmIntNWFBLicense.cpp,Line=684
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 VendorID=3 [FLEXLM-NW]
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 VendorError=-18 [Server does not support this feature]
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 FLEXLM-NW=v11.7.0.1 build 79971 i86_n3
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 Reason=Fatal error
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 ComputerName=VBCWXPSEQ03
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 OS=5.1.2600.Service Pack 3
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 File=AdlmIntNWFBLicense.cpp,Line=667
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:25 AdlmIntError=20 [License check out failed]
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 Reason=Fatal error
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 ComputerName=VBCWXPSEQ03
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 OS=5.1.2600.Service Pack 3
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 File=AdlmIntNWFBLicense.cpp,Line=684
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 VendorID=3 [FLEXLM-NW]
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 VendorError=-18 [Server does not support this feature]
4088 2010/07/02 14:33:26 FLEXLM-NW=v11.7.0.1 build 79971 i86_n3

-----

 

Other details:

I created a deployment using the supplied tool for the installation.

Our client's use Windows XP Professional with SP3 and meet all the required software and hardware requirements.

I have updated LMTOOLS to version 11.7 and the license file has been updated.

The time on all of our clients is correct and synced with the license server (I seen this in another post as a fix).

I have re-downloading the Inventor 2011 installation files and tried recreating the deployment with less components.

I have tried performing a manual install and also installing the deployment on several different machines.

All required ports are open.

Other deployments work fine and the software is running from 1 license server (Inventor 2010, Inventor 2009. AutoCAD 2011, 2010, 2009, 2007. Revit 2011, 2010. MAYA 2010. SOFTIMAGE 2010. 3DSTUDIO MAX 2010. VIZ 2008. and a few others).

 

Please help,

 

Regards,

 

Wayne

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 14 (18,498 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-02-2010 09:35 AM in reply to: w_ayne

Rename the CascadeInfo.cas file located at C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\Adlm.  Then try again. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 3 of 14 (18,475 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-03-2010 10:30 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Sorry didn't mention that in the first post. Tried that already. It had no effect.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 14 (18,468 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-03-2010 05:14 PM in reply to: w_ayne

VendorError=-18 [Server does not support this feature]

 

-18 generally indicates that there is a problem with the vendor or license file for your product.  I've seen this when upgrading from 32-bit NLM to 64-bit NLM and there being a mismatch between the adskflex.exe.  It could also be that your license manager is misconfigured on your multiple services since you are clearly running more than just one product.  You might stop the other licenses and just test this one to make sure you can narrow down the problem.  Then work from there. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Alumni
huliang2008
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-08-2010
Message 5 of 14 (18,455 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-04-2010 08:54 PM in reply to: w_ayne

please make sure you have configured LMTOOLS correctly and the right Inventor flavor license has been configured(such as you cannot launch AIP if there is only AIS license on server). you can check the status via "Server Status" tab in LMTOOLS and view the log file in "Config Service" tab.

 



Kevin Hu
SQA Eng
ACRD MFG
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
cclincu
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-05-2010
Message 6 of 14 (18,434 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-05-2010 01:53 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Hi

I've got the sane problem with NavisWorks 2011.

Have you found a solution?

Thanks for any help.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 7 of 14 (18,427 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-05-2010 02:39 AM in reply to: w_ayne

Thanks for the reply's guys.

 

No solution yet sorry.

 

I'm going to re-install everything today including the license server in a virtual test environment.

I plan on testing x86 and x64 versions of the deployments before contacting my supplier.

New Member
hitchin
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-06-2010
Message 8 of 14 (18,387 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-06-2010 01:34 AM in reply to: w_ayne

Wayne have you sorted this problem out yet as we are suffering fromn the same error message? Many Thanks

Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Message 9 of 14 (18,355 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-06-2010 08:27 AM in reply to: w_ayne

Inventor 2010 is now working for me. 

 

The problem turned out to be an incorrect license.

I emailed the Autodesk Authorization Center. They asked me to confirm my version of the software and recreated me a license file.

 

Thanks,

 

Wayne

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,538
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 14 (18,349 Views)

Re: A valid license could not be obtained by the network license manager. [0.0.0

07-06-2010 08:53 AM in reply to: w_ayne

Yep, that's pretty much what I figured based on the -18 as listed above.  There are a lot of different symptoms that cause this issue. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube