Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
ubuntupokemoninc
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 1 of 4 (289 Views)

A display drive file (.hdl) is missing or has been corrupted.

289 Views, 3 Replies
09-13-2013 07:51 PM

Hi, I am using autocad electrical 2014 student. and when I turn it on I get this error.

If you need to know my graphics card is a gts 250.

 

Thanks for your time!

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,612
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (267 Views)

Re: A display drive file (.hdl) is missing or has been corrupted.

09-14-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: ubuntupokemoninc
Try removing and reinstalling AutoCAD first.
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
New Member
ubuntupokemoninc
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-13-2013
Message 3 of 4 (264 Views)

Re: A display drive file (.hdl) is missing or has been corrupted.

09-14-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: ubuntupokemoninc

I tried everything to uninstall it but when I try to reinstall it, it says its still installed :smileyfrustrated:

 

 

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 4 (243 Views)

Re: A display drive file (.hdl) is missing or has been corrupted.

09-17-2013 10:42 AM in reply to: ubuntupokemoninc

ubuntupokemoninc,

 

Hello. Ms Fixit will clear a residual install:

  http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall\

 

You are in the graphics realm. First try to shut off Hardware acceleration and see if it helps:

1.) Right-click the program icon on your desktop

2.) Click "Properties"

3.) Access the "Shortcut" tab

4.) In the "Target" field, after acad.exe" type a space and then /NOHARDWARE

5.) Click "OK" and retest

 

If this does not help, or if it DOES help, download a new graphics card driver and retest. Generally, users prefer to run with the switch not in use. If you update your graphics card driver, you may be able to not use the switch.

 

When you try to update the driver, do not have Windows search for the driver. Go to the graphics card website: usually Nvidia or ATI and search their site for the latest drivers. I would download 2 or three of the latest available and test them to see if any help.

 

If this still does not help:

1.)     Uninstall the program through the Control Panel

2.)     Try to uninstall the program again using MSFixit. (This will uninstall a program that lists as already installed): http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall\

3.)     Delete any residual folders for the program from these locations : they should be clearly named:

  • C:\Program Files\Autodesk\
  • C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\
  • C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk\
  • C:\Users\All Users\
  • C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\
  • C:\Users\**YOUR USERID**\AppData\Local\Autodesk\

Now install and test.

 

Thank you for taking part in our community!



David Dembkoski

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube