Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
bluegown2
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-28-2012
Message 1 of 4 (371 Views)

3D studio viz R3

371 Views, 3 Replies
10-28-2012 12:06 PM

Hello

 

I have a registered 3D Studio Viz R3 page purchased in May 2000. I have been trying to re-install the product on Windows XP without any success. The software was originally installed when first purchased on XP, so I am a little confused as to why it will ot work now.

 

Can anyone help??

 

Many thanks

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,023
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (338 Views)

Re: 3D studio viz R3

10-31-2012 02:39 PM in reply to: bluegown2

What is the error that you have?  Please post any screen shots and log files that might help.  This software is old and retired, so it'll be a stretch to get it working.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 4 (326 Views)

Re: 3D studio viz R3

11-01-2012 06:36 AM in reply to: TravisNave

when it was on xp it was probably before all the service packs were released

try running xp with out any of the service packs

no gurantee this will work since this product came out before XP did

Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 4 of 4 (321 Views)

Re: 3D studio viz R3

11-01-2012 07:00 AM in reply to: bluegown2

Bluegown2,

Hello. Older programs can be difficult to troubleshoot, as the products were created before so many system updates have occurred. This particular program was created before a gigantic range of XP updates- any of which could be a contributor to your problem.

Click the Windows start button and in the Run box type “Events” and press enter. This should open your Windows Event viewer. This will provide some information as to any failed installations.

If you can locate a failure, look for the module, program, dll, whatever it displays. Then I would search on Google to identify where it came from. If you can find a particular DLL connected to an existing program like NET, or C++- uninstall it and try to reinstall Viz.

As always, you should keep some basic things in mind when installing:

-Have admin rights

-Turn off Antivirus

-Turn off any spyware or popup blockers

If this does not work:

-Reboot into safe mode and try to install

-Login with a different user account and try to install

-Reformat your system to factory defaults and try to install.

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png 

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube