Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
chris.chan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2008
Message 1 of 20 (143,060 Views)
Accepted Solution

32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

143060 Views, 19 Replies
05-25-2010 05:02 AM
can i install autocad 2010or 2011 32bit on window 7 64bit system?
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 20 (143,059 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-25-2010 09:13 AM in reply to: chris.chan
No. You will need to install the 64-bit version. The disc media will have both versions and the appropriate one will install. If you downloaded your installation, then you will need to also download the 64-bit version as well.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
chris.chan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2008
Message 3 of 20 (143,059 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-25-2010 09:33 AM in reply to: chris.chan
Thanks for your reply,
Is there any way I can install Autocad 2011 32bit on my new system Window 7 64bit, because I have a bolt on software which runs on Autocad, and the bolt on software only runs on Autocad 2011 32bit.
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 20 (143,061 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-25-2010 09:41 AM in reply to: chris.chan
No, not natively. What you can do is install a Windows XP Virtual PC from Microsoft. It comes free for Windows 7 users. That will allow you to run Windows XP from within Windows 7. That's probably your only choice for that PC.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
chris.chan
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-04-2008
Message 5 of 20 (143,059 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-25-2010 09:55 AM in reply to: chris.chan
would the virtual PC with XP running Autocad be slow?
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 20 (143,057 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-25-2010 10:37 AM in reply to: chris.chan
Depends on your system, I suppose. Won't know until you try.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*BigBill
Message 7 of 20 (143,059 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

05-26-2010 04:46 PM in reply to: chris.chan
I am researching the same issue, add on customization requires 32 bit....
I am finding it "might" be possible to install in 32 bit compatibility
mode...
Not sure yet on that, or even how to do.. something to do with WOW64 mode

--
XP Pro
Intel Core2 Duo
p8400 @2.26 GHz
2.99GB Ram

GeForce 9800M GTS video card
wrote in message news:6397052@discussion.autodesk.com...
Depends on your system, I suppose. Won't know until you try.

__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature
database 5148 (20100526) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com





__________ Information from ESET NOD32 Antivirus, version of virus signature database 5148 (20100526) __________

The message was checked by ESET NOD32 Antivirus.

http://www.eset.com
New Member
Mortoyz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-16-2010
Message 8 of 20 (142,660 Views)

Re: Bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

08-16-2010 05:12 PM in reply to: *BigBill

Hi.

 

I was wondering if there has been any further update / developments to this initial question ?

 

We are soon to be in a similar problem where out native OS will be Windows 7 running in 64Bit and require Autocad 2010 to run in 32Bit mode to be able to support other applications which only run in 32Bit mode (at this stage).

 

I am hoping someone on this forum may have a solution / work around to this problem which seems likely to become more of common issue.

 

Thanks. :smileyhappy:

 

Marcis

Contributor
Marese
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
Message 9 of 20 (142,322 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

08-27-2010 01:14 AM in reply to: chris.chan

Same problem here. Anyone found other solutions? If that Longbow Converter can make it work, why is AutoDesk itself not making it easier for us right now. I know the solution should be coming from my plug-in seller but then again... they don't/can't.

 

They do have another new program that substitutes the program we are still working with but we would need to change our entire environment for that... and it will cost a lot of money. (Almost?) impossible at the moment!

 

Can't AutoCAD make the version work 32-bits on a 64-bits windows 7 machine for the time being? Why don't they do that?

 

I think installing a virtual windows xp pc, buying another program to convert AutoCAD and that sort of solutions are not the solving of the problem I seek. They are all work-arounds for a problem that perhaps could be solved easily by AutoDesk itself?

Member
WTLucas
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
Message 10 of 20 (100,662 Views)

Re: 32bit AutoCAD on 64bit Windows 7 system

03-28-2011 05:50 AM in reply to: Marese

i'm looking at that software but, i feel Autodesk should have an answer for this matter.  I will typically being running in 64 bit mode but, will only need the 32 bit when doing FlexCad isometrics.  Would be an easy fix if FlexCad would run in 64 bit.  I don't want to burn 2 autocad license on each machine if i don't have to.  The cost is too high for this solution.  There should be an easy fix for this.

 

Thanks,
Todd

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube