Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
jagrove
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
Message 1 of 21 (5,376 Views)

2013 Install Process

5376 Views, 20 Replies
04-12-2012 08:07 AM

Hello,

 

I created an AutoCad Electrical 2013 deployment and went to install it on a client computer to have it sit in the Setup Initialization phase for hours. ( I left it over night)

 

I don't get any prompts to answer, the progress bar fills up and then retreats back to half full.  It continues this for as long as you let it.

 

I modified the deployment and it didn't help.  Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thank you!

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,042
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 21 (5,356 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

04-12-2012 05:39 PM in reply to: jagrove

Modify the deployment.  Do not make it a silent install.  Post any installation error logs that get created.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Employee
RobinShou-Autodesk
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 3 of 21 (5,347 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

04-12-2012 07:28 PM in reply to: jagrove

Hello,        

 

Please try to recreate the deployment, and make it unsilent install in the same page which you put the deployment name and path in. After that try to install from the new deployment.

 

Let me know if you still have the same issue, and also attache the log files from %temp% folder.       

 

Thanks,   

Robin Shou   

Quality Assurance   

AutoCAD Electrical   

Autodesk, Inc.

Member
AUbridgestone
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 4 of 21 (5,192 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

05-23-2012 06:04 AM in reply to: RobinShou-Autodesk

Did this issue ever get resolved? I am having the same problem with Electrical 2012. Win 7 and XP both display this issue. I am an admin user.

New Member
Jake.Nelson
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2012
Message 5 of 21 (5,061 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

07-01-2012 08:52 PM in reply to: jagrove

Same issue here. I left my install going for ages and it sat on "Initializing setup" for the entire time. This prompt has a scroll bar that inifinitlely loops and when I look at taskmgr I can see that the setup*32.exe has been called but nothing else has (dotnet 4 I think is called first during a normal setup).

 

Cpu usage sits on nothing and Network usage bursts to about 3% when the deployment starts but drops to 0% after a few seconds.

 

Nothing in the event logs that is helpful, no warning or errors or completions around this.

 

Interestingly enough though once I remade the deployment share (not from scratch, I used the existing files) without the silent install paramter it all went through the setup fine.

 

Also, the log is not created when I had the silent install option enabled so it's not even at that stage when it's halting.

Member
john.lund
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2007
Message 6 of 21 (4,873 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

08-07-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: RobinShou-Autodesk

Hello RobinShou,

 

I was having the same problem with AutoCAD and AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013 32-bit and 64-bit Deployments, with the AutoCAD Setup Initialization being stuck on initializing.  Your suggestion about re-creating the deployment ("run silent" was already off) did the trick.  I can now do the various deployments!

 

Thank you,

 

John L., Civil CADD Manager

Active Member
steinar.sorem
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-07-2012
Message 7 of 21 (4,844 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

08-08-2012 06:35 AM in reply to: jagrove

Hi, i even has the same problem with Autodesk Product Design Suite 2013. Setup is initializing are hanging and nothing more happens. I will try to uncheck silent install as well. Autodesk, whats in this problem? Solutions avalible for Win 7 ?

I can see an solution on the Up an ready blog regadrs this problem on Win XP x64. What abaout Win 7 ?

Member
john.lund
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-01-2007
Message 8 of 21 (4,842 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

08-08-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: jagrove
This problem that happened to me (AutoCAD 2013 & AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013) had occurred on both Windows XP Pro 32-bit and Window 7 Pro 64-bit OS. I did a "Re-create Deployment" option under tools in the deployment folder, and it did the trick. No more stuck on "Initializing". Thank you, John L. Lund [Logoletter25x25] John L. Lund Civil CADD Manager Civil CADD Section, Engineering Division Yuma County Dept. of Development Services Telephone: (928) 817-5115 john.lund@yumacountyaz.gov 2351 W. 26th St Yuma, AZ, 85364 Fax: (928) 817-5020 www.yumacountyaz.gov
Contributor
smurgas
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎03-10-2009
Message 9 of 21 (4,281 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

10-31-2012 08:46 AM in reply to: john.lund

Same problem here.  Trying to create a working Civil 3D 2013 deployment but it sits at the Setup Initialization window forever.  No network log file is ever created, it must not get that far.  While I don't see a "Re-create deployment" option in the tools folder of the deploy, I used the "create & modify deployment" shortcut to modify it, however, I had already unchecked the silent install option.  I even created the deploy again with the silent option checked, just so I could "modify" the deployment to uncheck it (thinking maybe it's just a bug of some sort).  None of that helped and I am still stuck trying to create a working deployment.

 

Any other ideas?

Member
AUbridgestone
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 10 of 21 (4,278 Views)

Re: 2013 Install Process

10-31-2012 08:49 AM in reply to: jagrove

I ended up re-creating the deployment and that fixed my issue.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube