Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
ndra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 1 of 7 (124 Views)

2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

124 Views, 6 Replies
09-21-2011 01:12 AM

Dear all,

 

We just finished deploying the new Product Design Suite 2012 on the pcs. We have the vault pro 2012 licenses as well, on the same licensing server, and they were working fine. We updated the license file with the PDM licenses as well. At first the vault licenses would continue to work, but the PDS didn't, so we upgraded the License manager files to version 11.9 (win x64, ipv6). Now the PDS licenses are working fine, but not the Vault ones! We just get a "failed to acquire a license" on vault clients.

I checked the license file on Autodesk Parser, and it came back fine (as it should). The weird thing is that the LM logs don't report any errors, or any requests for the Vault licenses.

 

I'm lost with this one, should I try the latest version from flexera? (it's version 11.10)

 

Any help?

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 2 of 7 (115 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-21-2011 07:54 AM in reply to: ndra

Assuming even if you keep only vault's license in the file, it still fails. so something to do with License server version .

 

Can you try to use the ipaddress of the license server instead of the name in the Vault's licpath.lic.

 

also run tests from the vault server using IE  to check the connectivity to the license server.

 

 

 

 

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-21-2011 08:06 AM in reply to: ndra

If it is on the same license server, then it is still likely an IPv6 issue.  Use ping to find out.  If so, follow my IPv6 steps to resolve the issue.  This seems to affect Vault the most since it is more often found on the same server as the NLM.

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

 

Help Improve the Autodesk Discussion Groups
--------------------------------------------------------
If I was able to resolve your issue, please select the "Accept as Solution" option so that you can help fellow members quickly find solutions to their problems. Please add Kudos to a post if you were helped by a post that you did not author.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
ndra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 4 of 7 (98 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-22-2011 06:17 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thank you for your answers.

 

It wasn't a IPv6 issue, I'll keep that in mind though in case I come accross it.

 

We had another license running on lmtools from another vendor, as soon as I took that service down, both licenses (vault and PDS) worked fine.

 

Any suggestions on running licenses from multiple vendors?

 

Regards,

Nikos

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 7 (96 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-22-2011 06:39 AM in reply to: ndra
Yes. In fact I have a whole article about it in my combining license files link below in my signature. Let me know if you need additional assistance.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
ndra
Posts: 79
Registered: ‎11-23-2010
Message 6 of 7 (94 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-22-2011 07:00 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Ah, I see, I skimmed through your thread, but only read the first post (silly me). Very straightforward and well written.

I'll post back as soon as I meddle some more with it.

 

Regards

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 7 (91 Views)

Re: 2012 products NLM wierd problem?!?

09-22-2011 07:38 AM in reply to: ndra
If you have any questions about the process, let me know or send me a PM. Thanks!
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube